Main Forums >> DIY, Electronics, Studio Design & Acoustics
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
UneducatedWeasl

Loc: Leeds, West Yorkshire
Guitar Pedal Tinkering
      #1020961 - 26/11/12 10:12 PM
Hey all,

Got a Frontline Series II Heavy Metal Distortion for free with another pedal that I bought, as it was busted (in the guy's words: has something funny going on with it). I get signal through it, and the controls do what you would expect (apart from the oddly named 'Sensitivity' which controls the distortion) but the thing is a massive tone suck, and pretty quiet. I have to turn the volume on it up to full, and even then it just doesn't get anywhere near the clean volume.

I've got no idea where to start in diagnosing the issue, so I thought I'd ask if anyone happens to have any experience with this particular pedal, or can suggest a few common causes of lack of volume and loss of tone that I could try and look for as a starting point. I've got no experience with opening up pedals and tinkering, but I figured that if there was any pedal that I can afford to screw up on, then this is probably the one. It might not be possible that there is anything I can do, in which case I would probably just cut my losses on the thing, but it's worth a shot

It's in no way a nice distortion (tbh, I'd quite like to get it up to working condition, just so I can have 'awful cheap distortion pedal' as a tool for the odd time I might need it in the studio) so no big loss if it doesn't work out.

Any ideas?

--------------------
Freelance Engineer / Musician / Nerd

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
zenguitarModerator

Loc: Devon
Re: Guitar Pedal Tinkering new [Re: UneducatedWeasl]
      #1020982 - 27/11/12 12:26 AM
Well, when it comes to building your own pedals, the most expensive parts are the case, pots, and sockets.

So the way I look at it is like this...