Main Forums >> DIY, Electronics, Studio Design & Acoustics
        Print Thread

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Helmutcrab

Loc: County Durham, UK
DIY Studio Build Diary
      #1029202 - 18/01/13 10:46 AM
Hi Everyone,

I would like to share with you my Studio Acoustics Build Diary. I have been doing some reading on the subject for a few years now and after reading some DIY threads in addition to Zukan's DIY sticky, i thought i would have a go myself for better or worse.

I would like to give a big thank you to Ethan Winer of www.realtraps.com, Alexander Reynolds of www.gikacoustics.co.uk, and sos forum contributor thefruitfarmer who have answered all my questions thus far on the subject and without whom i would not have felt confident enough to try this project. Thank you also Steven P. Helm from whom i got the idea of using a metal frame.

As a cautionary note to anyone reading this and intending to maybe use some of the ideas mentioned here - This is a DIY work in progress and i do not know if it will be a success or disaster yet !. I may end up doing things completely different.

My room is an odd L shape with a sloping roof (but not in a good way) all around. Internally the room walls are single skin 12.5 mm plasterboard with 100mm isowool behind and between an independent wooden frame (was a very bad idea). The ceiling is 2 layers of 12.5mm plasterboard on 400mm spaced joists with 100mm rockwool inbetween. The floor is 1" boards on 75mm celotex. There are no windows or doors into other rooms.

Here is a basic layout with dimensions :

(I drew the vocal character the wrong way around)

To help understand the odd shape of the room with regards to the ceiling, here is a crude 3 D sketch :

Here is the room looking into the mixing area. You can see the speakers positioned centrally :

Here is another line drawing, this time of proposed broadband absorber panel placement around the mixing area. ( ceiling cloud transparent ) :

Looking away from the mix position :