Main Forums >> DIY, Electronics, Studio Design & Acoustics
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Simeon

Help cleaning up ripple on 9v 6 channel guitar pedal power supply
      #1040467 - 29/03/13 07:45 PM
Hi guys hope you can help me with this one.

I have a Soundlabs six channel 9v dc power supply for guitar Pedals. Pre warning I'm still a beginner, so sorry if the way I explain things is hard to understand, I'm still learning. Also I apologise for my bad circuit drawing. I kinda guessing at the tranny setup up there so ignore my circuit symbol for that.

I want to clean the power up a bit with either some rectification or maybe even a tranny replacement. I have 2X in5817 2x in5816 and 2x in5819 diodes.

-Could I put one in parrallel after the diode (d1) thats already there? then change the 10uf (c1) cap to 470uf so it's the same as (c2).

-There's a resistor (r3) that has been removed from negative to ground? I guess by the manufacturer as a revision. I guess thats got something to do with rfi should I put something in there?.

-Anything I can do to prevent ground loops between pedals?

-would replacing the rectifier with a better one help as well.

Had to draw the circuit in two goes sorry hope it maks sense.

--------------------
"what sounds best wins"

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Folderol

Loc: Rochester, UK
Re: Help cleaning up ripple on 9v 6 channel guitar pedal power supply new [Re: Simeon]
      #1040471 - 29/03/13 08:42 PM
Those drawings really don't make much sense. I would guess it's on a double-sided PCB and you're not seeing half the trackwork.

Adding rectifiers won't improve the hum level.

Significantly increasing the size of a capacitor (by doubling it up) could put stress on other parts of the circuit - especially at switch-on.