Main Forums >> Guitar Technology
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
kinglouis

Taylor 615ce
      #1045904 - 30/04/13 02:21 PM
Hi All,

I've been offered this taylor at a good knock-down price from an in-law; whilst I'm a pretty proficient guitarist I don't know a vast amount about acoustics. I was looking to upgrade to an acoustic that records beautifully in most styles (I record a lot of music for tv in pretty much any genre) and gigs well (acoustic guitar/jazz vox duo). Is this a good all-round guitar?

Having played it a bit in the past it has a cracking action and a lovely tone but I was hoping for some thoughts from them wot know better. Is it a good general work-horse?

Many thanks.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
RitchieM

Loc: Skelmersdale, Lancashire
Re: Taylor 615ce new [Re: kinglouis]
      #1045926 - 30/04/13 03:03 PM
Buy buy buy!!!!

Never played a 614, but I own a 314ce ltd, a 355 12 string and have played a 514.

Oh, and my sons middle name is Taylor, and it's NOT because of that clown from Twilight!

They are the best.

--------------------
Engineering Surveyor and Musician Pretty Vegas Northwest Function and Wedding Band
Wedding Band Blog

CS70

Loc: Oslo, Norway
      #1045992 - 30/04/13 08:41 PM
Taylors are good pieces of kit in general, then it's down to your preferences and your fingers.
Since it's an in-law, can't you just try it? If it sounds right and feels right and your random checks on ebay confirm it's a good price.. what's to think about? :-) Worst case, you resell it.

--------------------
http://www.silver-spoon.org - It's just music
..and the FB page

Bazza

Loc: County Durham
      #1046007 - 30/04/13 09:45 PM
Nice guitars. Mine has quite a wide neck and cuts through a mix very well.

Check ebay for prices. I would describe £1500 or less as knock down, but as always DYOR.

Bazza

--------------------
This time next week, who'll give a sh*t
http://www.podcastrevision.co.uk

Madman_Greg