Main Forums >> Guitar Technology
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
JM-1

Removing an under saddle transducer
      #1082818 - 11/01/14 01:37 PM
I wish to uninstall my Fishman under saddle transducer on my acoustic guitar.

This will obviously cause the saddle height to drop, and will require a shim.

How thick will the shim need to be? And what material should I use - paper?

Expert opinions most appreciated

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Kwackman

Loc: Belfast
Re: Removing an under saddle transducer new [Re: JM-1]
      #1082819 - 11/01/14 01:47 PM
I'm no expert, but a new saddle of the correct height would be the best solution IMHO.

--------------------
Cubase, guitars.

zenguitarModerator

Loc: Devon
      #1082830 - 11/01/14 03:23 PM
Kwackman is right, the best option is ALWAYS a replacement saddle. My preference would be a nice piece of bone or fossil ivory if I can lay my hands on it affordably.

Next option would be to build up the existing saddle with a strip of bone or hard wood glued to the bottom. The extension should be the same thickness as the transducer you removed. You need to ensure the bottom of the saddle is perfectly flat (which it should be anyway) and glue the spacer on with epoxy or superglue. Once the glue has fully dried (that's at least 24 hours, even with superglue) you can shave/sand/file the spacer back to the same shape as the saddle itself. When you refit the saddle just make sure that the new base is perfectly flat again and it drops in with just the tiniest hint of friction (it shouldn't fall out but should not require force to pull out).