Main Forums >> Live Sound & Performance
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
len armstrong

Loc: Cumbria
PA system
      #1030901 - 28/01/13 07:39 PM
Hi all Newbie here
i would like some help to create a way forward in improving my present rather old system
Firstly I gig with one other guy mainly smallish venues country folk blues etc and i put on various open mikes. so power aint the highest priority. Here is my set up
yamaha powered amp emx500-12
pair of peavey prosys 15 speakers
monitor
laney combo bass amp
backingt tape deck
and smartphone
some questions and some photos
channel 2 on the amp is very noisy 1 has a bit of noise as does 7 the rest are silent even on max volume and gain so any ideas as to how/if i could clean up the 3 i have done all the checks and found the only thing to silence them is putting a blank jack in the I/O input.
Now to the reall nitty gritty i have attached some photos for your perusal
Most of the drivers in here have had some repairs at some time so i ma replacing them
I have already replace the 3 way passive crossovers
as you will see these cabs have three inputs a bi amp lo switching jack
1/4" jack bi amp hi
and an xlr bi amp hi
ok so my bquestion how should the inputs from the input the panel be connected to the xover cos im not sure i have it right.
and using the figures can someone give me some decent quality replacement drivers that would work with this sytem that would make me a happy bunny the speakers at present are 150 rms but the amp is much bigger so i would like to be able to use a little more of its power. I love working this stuff out and hate throwing away so it would be great to make these old cabs punch above there weight a little and keep them off the tip. I am learning loads about frequencies and drivers and eager to get better i have no qualms about opening things up and heating up the solder station so if anyone fancies giving me a helping hand into this new domain bring it on