Main Forums >> Live Sound & Performance
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Ian Evans

HK PR:O 12
      #1031766 - 02/02/13 05:57 PM
I'm planning to replace a pair of prehistoric EV S200 speakers, currently used for small 100-200 capacity gigs, powered by a Macrotech 2400 amp. Main use is vocal only, but occasionally full band with a sub added.

These HK PR:O 12 look nice for the price with a good sensitivity figure, but I have no experience of HK - has anybody ever used this speaker?

Also thinking that the safe route might be a pair of SX300s.

Edited by Ian Evans (02/02/13 05:58 PM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Mike Stranks

Loc: Oxford, UK
Re: HK PR:O 12 new [Re: Ian Evans]
      #1031769 - 02/02/13 06:12 PM
I'm presuming you want to stick with passive speakers.

I've used and heard HK speakers a bit m'self and am a fan. That said, there are others here who aren't so enthusiastic. I'd describe the sound as 'hi-fi' - quite smooth and measured. You'll find a review of them by Paul White HERE

I came very close to buying some PR:O 8s recently, but in the end went powered and bought some Yamaha DXRs.

I have some experience of the SX300s and have found them slightly lacking in bass compared to other 12" speakers.

I've also been intrigued by the KME range of speakers, but seems like you can only get them from Thomann. I put a 'shout-out' here about them recently but no-one responded.

You might also want to check out what RCF, dB Technologies and FBT are offering. All of those were on my shortlist.

But if I was choosing between HK or EV I'd go for HK, but their 'sound' does suit the styles I usually work in.

Ian Evans

Re: HK PR:O 12 new [Re: Mike Stranks]
      #1031782 - 02/02/13 07:59 PM
Hi Mike - yes I'm staying with passive speakers.

On balance I need hi-fi much more often straight level, but want to be able to manage the odd time it's a loud gig.

I'd be interested in hearing from people who don't like HKs.