Main Forums >> Live Sound & Performance
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
rock and roll

Looking for a smallish PA for pub gigs
      #994480 - 24/06/12 12:54 PM
Hi

I'm a music student doing small-scale acoustic gigs in pubs and restaurants, but of the venues we have, the house PA (if there is one) is of extremely poor quality (carpet as speaker cloth...), which has led us to consider that buying our own small system would be a good investment. I'm a bit new to this so thought I'd ask for some advice here, here's a list of our requirements:

- price, ideally £400 or less for the system, happy to buy used, if absolutely necessary we could maybe sell some stuff and make £500-600

- minimum 4 channels, ideally 6-8+ for more flexibility. Running two vocals, acoustic guitar and electric bass with the bass DI (occasional DI electro acoustic as well), needs reasonable preamps for the micing acoustic instruments.

- enough volume to play pub gigs to ~100 people

- Some form of audio output for recording would be nice, ideally individual outputs for each channel with the eventual aim of hooking it up to a multitrack recorder, but could get by with a stereo output.

- Preferably compact enough to fit in the boot/back seat of a Corsa, lightweight is a bonus if it doesn't compromise the sound/reliability

Cheers

Pete

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
turbodave

Loc: derbyshire uk
Re: Looking for a smallish PA for pub gigs new [Re: rock and roll]
      #994501 - 24/06/12 03:31 PM
Hi, Considering you have gigs , I would look to up your budget. Even second hand, at £400 with the purchase of microphones, leads , stands,a desk and active speakers to consider you will end up with mostly rubbish. I would look to up your budget via a loan if possible (I know it ain't easy) to around £1200. You would then get an OK new system or a slightly higher grade second hand one. Dave

--------------------
My head hurts!

shufflebeat

Loc: Manchester, UK