Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
tca

Budget Mics help
      #1028939 - 16/01/13 04:16 PM
Hello people!
I'm a newbie here and also a relative newbie regarding production but would like to get some opinions on some entry level equipment. basically i want to record my kids playing guitar and singing giving them a tiny bit of "studio environment experience". i can get around most things but microphones are the dificult area for me. I need two to record vocals, one for acoustic guitar and maybe one for ambience, don't have to be the cheapest but keeping in mind that for now this is only for fun. I've just got a Soundcraft EPM8 at the moment and would like to build up from there. Any help on the mics?
Many thanks!!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
ConcertinaChap

Loc: Bradford on Avon
Re: Budget Mics help new [Re: tca]
      #1028943 - 16/01/13 04:35 PM
Hi and welcome.

The Rode M3 is an excellent mic for the price, but as you can imagine this topic comes up a lot, so it'd be worth your while using the forum search button

CC

--------------------
Remember: Tidy wires are happy wires!
Mr Punch's Studio

Skerrick

Loc: Sydney NSW
      #1028991 - 16/01/13 11:32 PM
i have these mics and theyre great, although theyre cheap, you get a pencil condenser mic for instruments and a large condenser mic for vocals.
MXL990's are great for beginners like myself, plus thay have an awesome case that they come in so theyre transportable and storable without having to worry too much about the condions theyre being kept in.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MXL-990-991-Recording-Vocal-Instrumental-Microphone-Package-/25 1188667114?pt=AU_Pro_Audio&hash=item3a7c02e2ea&_uhb=1

Edited by Skerrick (16/01/13 11:32 PM)

tomdot

#1029062 - 17/01/13 01:20 PM
Personally I would steer away from the M3, and look to the recently reissued NT3 - its a great mic and the M3 was the lower rent replacement for the NT3.