Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1 | 2 | (show all)
Mattyy

Loc: Toronto, Canada
Favorite Plugin Developers
      #1038905 - 19/03/13 06:31 PM
OK.
So. In the last three years, it feels like I've demoed at least a million plugins. My obsession borders on debilitating. BUT. I now feel that I actually have an opinion about the quality of the various offerings out there. AND. I am fairly new to music engineering (last 5-10 years) so I don't have any "romantic" favorites, therefore, I feel like I'm a tad more objective than many as well. So here goes -- in order of preference.

1. Fabfilter: Not a single weak product. Light on the CPU. Easy to use.
2. PSP: Best sounding bar none! A little more resource hungry and harder to get right at times.
3. Soundtoys: Gimmicky but awesome none the less. A tad bit over-hyped imho.
4. Brainworx: They have nailed M/S and EQ imho. Some of their distortion offerings are a bit weak I feel.
5. URS: Very under the radar and limited in scope but they sound really good to me at least.
6. Abbey Road: When they're right - they're right!

NO? Waves: WAYYY too inconsistent :S From truly ingenious to plain awful sounding (Retro Comp vs. Hybrid EQ for instance). McDSP: when they start putting more audio samples online then I may revise my opinion but until then, I assume that absence means... UAD: please start looking forward as well, there will never be another Queen, get over it.

HONORABLE MENTION FOR PAYING FOR PROMO? Slate Digital: The ones that I've used, I've liked but they lack a real range of plugins, they are HEAVY on the CPU and its just really hard to hear the truth over the din of Steven Slate singing lounge tunes
That's it for now.
Your opinions as of March 2013?
Expect my fave software instruments soon.
Thanks

--------------------
Just a fan of music...

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
The_BPP

Loc: Lincolnshire
Re: Favorite Plugin Developers new [Re: Mattyy]