Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
redsony

Loc: Northamptonshire
which mike would you choose??
      #1040257 - 28/03/13 08:34 AM
Hi all . . . I am new to the forum but with to pick your expert brains if possible. I am studying a BA in sonic arts.
- for an assignment I am miking up 8 bathroom sinks with the intention of the drips/taps being the trigger to explore and play with sounds and music. I intend on having each individual sink miked up into a pc to produce the sounds of violins, when dripping the plucked sound will be achieved and when flowing a bowed sound - my big ask is which mike??? it needs to sensitive enough to pick up the sound but not to sensitive to pick up the other sinks which will need to be close enough to reach by the player. I am looking at drum mikes atm but could really do with some advice . . . .Many thanks

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Jack Ruston

Re: which mike would you choose?? new [Re: redsony]
      #1040264 - 28/03/13 09:12 AM
The problem you've got is that if you apply enough gain to pick up the sound of a drip, you're going to pick up the player scratching his earlobe on Mars. I'm not sure how easy it will be to filter the background noise. So you'd want a highly directional microphone, placed very close, but not so much so that it'd get wet. Perhaps some sort of shotgun mic?

J

--------------------
www.jackruston.com

redsony

#1040268 - 28/03/13 09:26 AM
Thank you Jack - This is much appreciated - I will look into it in further detail - you are a star

Jack Ruston

#1040269 - 28/03/13 09:32 AM
I wonder what would happen if the tap dripped onto some sort of trigger...or onto the plate of a boundary mic...Water is going to be an issue obv. So these sinks...are they the noisy metal type or the solid as a rock porcelain type?

J

--------------------
www.jackruston.com

redsony

#1040273 - 28/03/13 09:50 AM