Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Jonny DiBergi

Do I really need an LDC?
      #1048094 - 14/05/13 11:06 AM
Hello!

Never really caring that much about my recorded vocal sound I've been using an NT1a for many years. I mostly just demo songs for other people to sing, or record BVs and it does a reasonable job. I'm taking my singing a bit more seriously now and am doing a little collection of songs, and I'm looking to upgrade. Initially I started looking for just a better LDC but I'm wondering if that's definitely the right way to go, and whether looking at a nice dynamic would be worthwhile?

Budget is low, something around £300 would be do-able, maybe more. Not sure I can be specific about the sort of sound I'm after - happy to take recommendations based on my voice, which can be heard on this here song: soundcloud

I have a helpful combination of a warm bass-bari, screechy head voice, and a bit of sibilance. Any ideas, LDC or otherwise?

Thanks in advance

(Ps, if it could be decent on acoustic guitar, that would be a bonus..)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Stef Andrews

Loc: Sussex, UK
Re: Do I really need an LDC? new [Re: Jonny DiBergi]
      #1048109 - 14/05/13 12:13 PM
If you can stretch the extra £76, the Audio Technica 4033 is fantastic on just about anything you can throw at it (don't actually throw stuff at it though, unless you've got a REALLY good pop shield!). Vocals, guitar amps, acoustic guitar, upright bass, (in a pair) as drum overheads, upright bass, kick mic on a jazz kit are uses I've had for them off the top of my head and i'm sure I could think of more if i tried!

Thomann link

Edited by Stef Andrews (14/05/13 12:13 PM)

ConcertinaChap

Loc: Bradford on Avon
      #1048110 - 14/05/13 12:18 PM
Given that the NT1a is actually not a bad mic, what problems do you see with the sound you're getting from it now?

CC

--------------------