Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Mei

How to record digital piano to laptop (yamaha P-155)
      #1048807 - 18/05/13 04:10 AM
Hi everyone!

I would like to record songs from digital piano to laptop, with the sound exactly the same as when I play it.
I only have speaker and mic inputs on my laptop. (I heard line-in is needed?)
I am a real beginner of sound recording so please teach me step by step about the equipment and software needed.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
BJG145

Loc: Norwich UK
Re: How to record digital piano to laptop (yamaha P-155) new [Re: Mei]
      #1048821 - 18/05/13 08:48 AM
Hi Mei - welcome to the forum. If you plan to do a lot of recording you'll probably want to get a separate audio interface for your laptop, but for now it may be possible to use the mic-in as a line-in. What model is it...?

As for software, Audacity is a free, simple audio recorder which might make a good starting point.

Mei

Re: How to record digital piano to laptop (yamaha P-155) new [Re: BJG145]
      #1048879 - 18/05/13 04:40 PM
I do plan to do quite a lot of recordings.
What interface should I buy? And does the interface include cable? (Sorry for all the dump questions :P)
My laptop is acer 4820TG, and is using Windows 7.

Thanks for your help!

Richard Graham

Loc: Gateshead, UK
      #1048881 - 18/05/13 04:48 PM
Quote Mei:

What interface should I buy? And does the interface include cable? (Sorry for all the dump questions :P)

Thanks for your help!

A basic USB interface would be best for you. They almost all include usb cables, which are pennies to buy anyway, but you will need a lead to go from the headphone out on your keyboard, into the interface.

If you also want to record using microphones, ensure the interface includes microphone inputs. Many will do both microphone and line-level.

--------------------