Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Ron Snijders

Loc: Netherlands
Coincident stereo with subcardioids
      #1053103 - 18/06/13 12:06 PM
Apologies beforehand if this is a really stupid question. I've Googled a bit, but I can't seem to be able to find any real answer to this question (I guess subcards aren't as widely used as cards or omnis).
As I'm a beginner in the whole recording field, I'm currently building my mic collection. I recently had a chance to pick up a pair of Neumann KM143s at a very good price. Those mics being subcardioids does, however, limit the amount of documentation regarding their uses that I can find. I guess they'll do perfectly fine as a spaced array, but what about coincident or near-coincident? Should I simply angle them more than I would with cardioids to get them more off-axis to eachother, will they work just like cards, but with a smaller stereo spread, or is the concept flawed from the beginning, and should I pick up a pair of KM183s, or perhaps the cardioid capsules for the KM100 series?

Thanks in advance for any answers!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
John Willett
Sound-Link ProAudio

Loc: Oxfordshire UK
Re: Coincident stereo with subcardioids new [Re: Ron Snijders]
      #1053110 - 18/06/13 12:27 PM
Sub-cardioids (hypo-cardioids or wide-cardioids) are an excellent pattern and are very useful.

Though I would not use them in a co-incident array, they are fine when spaced. Not necessarily widely spaced (though that is also possible), but I would get them apart by about head width as a minimum.

--------------------
John - Sound-Link ProAudio
President - Federation Internationale des Chasseurs de Sons

Hugh RobjohnsAdministrator
SOS Technical Editor

Loc: Worcestershire
      #1053114 - 18/06/13 01:18 PM
Quote Ron Snijders:

I guess they'll do perfectly fine as a spaced array, but what about coincident or near-coincident?