Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Kevbo

midi latency question
      #995889 - 03/07/12 08:56 AM
Hi, I do some lo-fi recording and I'm new to midi, so this is probably an extremely basic question. I have an Alesis SR-16 drum machine and an Alesis Micron keyboard. I want to sync the arpeggiator on the keyboard to the drum muchine, so I have the midi out from the drum machine connected to the midi in on the keyboard. The arpeggiator is synced to the drum machine, but there is a definite and noticeable latency. Is there a way to get rid of this latency? Do I need to also have the midi out from the keyboard going back into the drum machine?

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Richie Royale

Loc: Bristol, England.
Re: midi latency question new [Re: Kevbo]
      #995894 - 03/07/12 09:32 AM
Some MIDI clocks are better than others I'm afraid. I presume that if the arpeggiator is working in sync with the drum machine, you have adjusted any settings on the Micron that allow for external syncronisation. Other than that, I don't think you will be able to improve the synchronisation other than looking at something with a better MIDI clock, such as an MPC.

This thread from the other place indicates that the SR16 isn't very good at keeping time.

--------------------
http://soundcloud.com/richie-royale
http://www.mixcrate.com/richieroyale

BJG145

Loc: Norwich UK
      #995895 - 03/07/12 09:39 AM
Hmm...so you have the Micron configured to take its MIDI clock from the SR16...? You might consider these...

Quote:

Once I have my tempo set, I like to record the drum machine's audio output into my audio software. There are a couple of reasons for this: First, I don't have to worry about sync problems happening down the road, second, sometimes slaving a drum machine to a sequence causes a very slight delay of a few milliseconds. This is especially true of older machines, and uncompensated MIDI interfaces.