The government's UK copyright law site outlines the IPO and Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988, the principal legislation covering intellectual property rights in the United Kingdom and the work to which it applies.

Main Forums >> Music Business
        Print Thread

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | (show all)
Sibelius19

My problem/dilemma...
      #1036716 - 06/03/13 03:15 PM
I have a degree in psychology,
I love music.
I'm a customer care executive for a compnay.
I love to write music.
I think about music all the time.
I love to create sounds.

What do I do?

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Soundseed

Loc: Glasgow
Re: My problem/dilemma... new [Re: Sibelius19]
      #1036725 - 06/03/13 03:29 PM
Quote Sibelius19:

I love music.
I love to write music.
I love to create sounds.

What do I do?

Write a musical?

Phil O

Loc: Scotland
Re: My problem/dilemma... new [Re: Soundseed]
      #1036738 - 06/03/13 04:05 PM
I think you know the answer you'll get from most here is - keep the day job and do music as a sideline / hobby.

Soundseed

Re: My problem/dilemma... new [Re: Phil O]
      #1036745 - 06/03/13 04:19 PM
Quote Phil O:

I think you know the answer you'll get from most here is - keep the day job and do music as a sideline / hobby.

Sensible advice.

I don't know why, but with the phrasing of the OP I just see this as being a cross between The Office and Joseph and his Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat.

Scramble

#1036750 - 06/03/13 04:46 PM
>What do I do?

I give up. What's the answer? You strangle animals?

Mike Stranks

Loc: Oxford, UK
      #1036766 - 06/03/13 05:29 PM

O/P: have a careful read through THIS thread from this very forum.

The reason that this is a sticky is that this question comes up very many times in slightly different forms and, as has already been said, the advice is always the same.