Main Forums >> Mac Music
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
J.K.

WHAT KIND OF MACBOOK TO GET?!
      #1053022 - 18/06/13 02:32 AM
So my desktop is taking adump on me, and I'm looking to get something a little more portable.

Was looking at some Hp and Asus laptops, along with macbooks.

I am fairly new to music production and looking to buy something good for beginning with that will last at least a year if not two, but also something cheaper since I am on a budget.

I have around 250-400 to spend, and need help!

I run Ableton Live 9 Intro and Massive at the moment and thats it, along with M-Audio monitors and my MPK49 keyboard.

Also will be using it just to surf the web and basic music.

I know I am looking for something like...

2.0+ Ghz
4GB+ Ram
250+ HD

And I'm thinking thats at minimum, I have been looking online and this is about the only thing I have found so far for specs and whats compatable with what I will be running...

Any ideas on a good cheaper laptop I can run my DAW and Vsts with, on the cheaper end?

I figured anything macbook 2007+ with the following specs above or better will do just fine?

I feel like I'm going overboard on this but I just dont wanna regret a future purchase or make an impulse one.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Richie Royale

Loc: Bristol, England.
Re: WHAT KIND OF MACBOOK TO GET?! new [Re: J.K.]
      #1053049 - 18/06/13 08:11 AM
I purchased one of these recently

http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/macbook/specs/macbook-core-2-duo-2.4 -black-13-early-2008-penryn-specs.html

via eBay for less than £400, although I can't recall the exact price.

I've not used it for anything too pressing, but I did put together a few video projects on it and it handled them fine. I've run Live on it, but nothing too tasking.

The biggest issue about an older mac will be battery life; mine has about an hour's charge.

--------------------
http://soundcloud.com/richie-royale