Main Forums >> Mac Music
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
bdpianoman

Mac Minimum system Requirements
      #1090385 - 24/02/14 01:44 AM
Hi SOS friends, I am brand new to recording. In fact, I am in the infancy stages of setting up a home studio. I am in the market for either a Mac laptop or an iPad to use in the studio. My plans are to mainly lay down some keyboard tracks. I plan to use Cubase or ProTools for recording, editing, etc. I was wondering if anyone could provide some basic information regarding suggested minimum system specs (ie memory, processor style/speed, etc) that I should be shopping for in regards to the Mac laptop and/or iPad? Would the laptop be better than an iPad? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Bdpianoman

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Scope

Re: Mac Minimum system Requirements new [Re: bdpianoman]
      #1090427 - 24/02/14 12:00 PM
I'd recommend any unibody mac.
The core2duos are still quite capable, but obviously any i5/i7 is going to give you more synths and FX.
Using a mac over an ipad, opens up a huge range of interfaces with USB or firewire.
Just be aware that apple dropped FW in 2012. But there are thunderbolt to FW converters.

G-Doubleyou

#1090512 - 24/02/14 07:54 PM
Quote bdpianoman:

Hi SOS friends, I am brand new to recording. In fact, I am in the infancy stages of setting up a home studio. I am in the market for either a Mac laptop or an iPad to use in the studio. My plans are to mainly lay down some keyboard tracks. I plan to use Cubase or ProTools for recording, editing, etc. I was wondering if anyone could provide some basic information regarding suggested minimum system specs (ie memory, processor style/speed, etc) that I should be shopping for in regards to the Mac laptop and/or iPad? Would the laptop be better than an iPad? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Bdpianoman

I own an iPad2, and a 2Ghz quad i7 Macbook Pro.