Main Forums >> PC Music
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Li-rocchi

Loc: Norwich, UK
Newbie Question - How does latency effect playback?
      #1072286 - 29/10/13 08:24 AM
Hi all

I have some limited recording experience and am familiar with the effect of latency on monitoring, and when using things like a MIDI keyboard. However, I thought when playing back songs in a sequencer the buffer could be set pretty much as high as you like with no problems....

I am working on a song in Cubase SX3, with drums from Drumkit from Hell Superior (and S2.0) as a Virtual Instrument. My soundcard is an EMU 1820M. The song has a few seconds of silence at the start. Then the bass (audio) and drums (MIDI - DFH) kick in. With the buffer set to 100ms, the first drum hit is way off the mark and completely out of time. It then seems to catch up with itself and from what I can tell, does fall into time after that initial "hiccup".

I know I can lower the buffer setting to avoid this. However, I'm interested and curious to know why and how this happens....

If anyone can help explain I'd really appreciate it.

Cheers

Max

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
BJG145

Loc: Norwich UK
Re: Newbie Question - How does latency effect playback? new [Re: Li-rocchi]
      #1072293 - 29/10/13 09:25 AM
I may be wrong, but I suspect this is a quirk of your particular setup rather than a general and predictable effect. Shouldn't really happen. Are you using the latest drivers...? SX3 is also getting on a bit.

Li-rocchi

Re: Newbie Question - How does latency effect playback? new [Re: BJG145]
      #1072297 - 29/10/13 09:55 AM
Hi

Yes, I believe all drivers are up to date. Who knows then what the quirk might be!