Main Forums >> PC Music
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
WiredUp

Any free Daws?
      #993461 - 18/06/12 06:23 PM
I have a neighbour doing music at college. Her folks got her a Yamaha digital piano. I think it would be good for her to connect it up to her PC so she can discover the joys of midi and what not.
She's really not very techy so I said I'd help her. So I'll source some midi cables and a basic interface but what about software? Do any of the daws do a cut down free/lite version?
I'm a pro tools man and its been years since I looked at the other systems. I know reaper is affordable but I can't ask her folks to buy something at this stage, just want to get her on the first step.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
lowlights

Loc: Salt Lake City, Utah
Re: Any free Daws? new [Re: WiredUp]
      #993467 - 18/06/12 07:24 PM
There's always Audacity (for PC and Mac), but I don't believe it includes MIDI functions. But it's a free multi-tracking DAW, using VST plugins (which can be found free, etc.)

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/about/features

The Elf

Loc: Sheffield, UK
      #993468 - 18/06/12 07:27 PM
Reaper isn't exactly expensive - let the programmers have their due. Your neighbours were quite happy to spend money on the Yamaha piano, so why not the price of a couple of curries to inspire a lifetime of creative potential?

But don't forget that Reaper is free to get started with, so if it goes no further what's to lose?

--------------------
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

shufflebeat

Loc: Manchester, UK
Re: Any free Daws? new [Re: The Elf]
      #993474 - 18/06/12 07:55 PM
Quote The Elf:

Reaper isn't exactly expensive - let the programmers have their due. Your neighbours were quite happy to spend money on the Yamaha piano, so why not the price of a couple of curries to inspire a lifetime of creative potential?