Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Jonny DiBergi

Good monitors in an untreated room
      #1040323 - 28/03/13 02:47 PM
Hello all

I'm in a rather unexpected position of being able to buy some decent monitors and would really appreciate some sage advice (but not really about speakers).

I'm a guitarist, and I do quite a bit of recording at home for my own music and online sessions for other people. I record and mix in an upstairs room in my house which is slightly rectangular (a little over 3x3m) with the usual features that a 1960s terraced house has like built-in wardrobes, a big window and a radiator, all on different walls. The room has a futon, a desk and some guitar stuff in it. It's carpeted but has no acoustic treatment.

I've been working with a pair of DT770s (comfy but a bit hyped), some ACS T1 moulded triple-driver IEMS (inconvenient), and a pair of passive Tannoy Reveals powered by a 20 year-old NAD hifi amp (no comment). I've never really been able to afford good monitors but I'm doing enough paid recording now to justify it and they'll be tax deductable which would be helpful if I get them before April 5th - good old AIA.

I'm looking at the Neumann KH120As. They seem very well-reviewed and are at the top of my price range, so I'm not really wondering if there's something superior I should choose instead, but is it absolute folly to use these in an untreated room? The room's just been plastered and decorated, but it's rented and while the landlords are very easy-going, I'm reluctant to start glueing panels to the walls. When the weather improves I think I'll make some free-standing rockwool panels that I can take with me when we leave here whenever that may be and that won't spoil the pretty walls, but until then I have to make do.