Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Bass Growler

Loc: Highlands of Scotland
Some very, very basic advice please. Yes! VERY basic.
      #1044387 - 21/04/13 09:53 PM
My first post. I am a retired electronics engineer familiar with Hi-Fi, amp design and that sort of stuff but somewhat(very) ignorant of the recording scene. Our local church has a mixing desk and various wired and wireless microphones already set up to feed amplifiers for fixed speakers throughouit the building. This all works OK and we are happy with it. Obviously the microphone and mixing setup is tailored to suit the particular needs of a sitting audience and the arrangement of speakers (100v line) already installed in the building. Got the picture - Now my question!!!
We wish to start recording selected events, choirs etc and various performances in the building for charity CD production etc - NOT studio quality. Is it, for recording purposes, best to have a separate arrangement of microphones and mixing desk completely divorced from the current in-house set-up, or is it common for the two functions Recording and Building Amplification to share some kit. OK, I am obviously new to this subject but need to get my head round what we may be offered by professional sound chappies. My own gut feeling is that the two need to be completely divorced if only to make life easy for amateur usage - we would have one person mixing for the Recording function as and when required on separate kit (microphones and mixing desk), in addition to the one person currently mixing the PA stuff for the audience. Our eventual sound installation (professionally installed) would be manned by enthusiastic amateurs.
Replies in plain english would be appreciated.

--------------------
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Scramble