Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
yeahtuna

Looking for feedback on a rock / country ballad
      #1046025 - 01/05/13 05:32 AM
Hi, this is my first time posting in this forum. I've been working on some tracks for a client and I'm close to rapping things up. I was hoping for a little advice in regards to the mix and possibly what I could do with a little mastering. I'f really appreciate any and all feedback.

[url=http:// www.audiofront.net/sea.mp3]Sea[/url]

In particular these are some of the questions rattling around in head.
  • Is there too much reverb?
  • Is the vocal sitting properly?
  • How are the dynamic and ambience on the bass drum. Is it doing what it's supposed to?
  • In two or three places the piano plays a few melodic runs that seem to jump out through the mix and sound a bit fake. Would you edit these out?

Regards,
    Rob

• Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
    yeahtuna

Re: Looking for feedback on a rock / country ballad new [Re: yeahtuna]
          #1046027 - 01/05/13 06:37 AM
    It doesn't seem like the link worked.

http://www.audiofront.net/sea.mp3

Sea

Edited by yeahtuna (01/05/13 06:39 AM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
    The Elf

Loc: Sheffield, UK
          #1046037 - 01/05/13 07:26 AM
    It's a good week for forum mixes! This is a great little song, performed beautifully and recorded very well. Joy!

Quote yeahtuna:

• IMO definitely not. What I feel is missing is the long 'backdrop' reverb/delay that sets the depth of the mix. You don't need much of it, and it needs to be used sparingly, but it suggests depth. The tiniest hint on vocal would give it that 'superhero' sense of space that I think could help here - maybe a little dash on other instrumentation where they need to shine.

Quote yeahtuna: