Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Gerhard Westphalen

Loc: Calgary, Canada
Buying Drum Set
      #1053041 - 18/06/13 07:18 AM
I know that I am posting in the wrong section but I didn't see a section which this would fit under.

There is a person locally selling a used drum set. It is a yamaha stage custom with cymbals. There is only a picture so I don't know much about the state which it is in. The seller is asking for $500. I can try it out before buying but its probably not tuned and needs new heads.

I have limited drumming experience but I will be soon starting to take jazz drum lessons so I need a jazz kit. The thing is that I'd also like to use the kit in my studio to record for my film music (more rock oriented, like Brian Tyler) so it has to be a good sounding kit.

I'm guessing that the cymbals included aren't very good so I know that I'd have to get nicer cymbals.

I would like to know if I should take this kit or not. I need to know soon before someone else takes up the offer.

Thanks!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
molecular

Loc: north a bit, west a bit
Re: Buying Drum Set new [Re: Gerhard Westphalen]
      #1053047 - 18/06/13 07:58 AM
I think Yamaha Stage Custom covers too many different options to be able to tell if that's a good deal - plus you don't know the cymbals... If you can find out the model of cymbal (as opposed to just the brand) they might be easier to judge, and also might give you an indication of whether the seller is likely to have looked after his kit.

If this is your first drumkit purchase I don't think it's too important, as the chances of it being the drumkit you really need if/when you become serious are pretty small. Looking at the models online, they don't look like jazz kits. But if you just buy it, you'll learn a lot of things about drums you won't be able to find out otherwise.