Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
noblestone

Here's what I have . . . please some guidance on recording my son's drums?
      #1067983 - 27/09/13 11:22 PM
I'm a home studio hobbyist with mild and, likely, unwarranted pretensions. My son is really a pretty good drummer, has a band with a bunch of older kids, and-most importantly-absolutely loves it. He's 8 years-old, but way more accomplished than the drummer I had through high school and even some of the guys I played with in college and after. The little guy just can't get enough of Steely Dan and Rush, which is kind of an oddity for his age. I took him to see Rush a few months ago, and he was kind of dozing off in his chair during the break between the second set and the encore, but when the first synth in 2112 Overture hit, he almost jumped into the next row with excitement.

Sorry for that. Paternal pride.

Here's the deal: I will list the mics I have available. Any guidance as to how I could use them would be greatly appreciated. I have plenty of pres and plenty of I/O via an Aurora Lynx 16 to a Pro Tools system with a C24 controller.

The room is pretty big, has a 14 foot ceiling, and a hard wood floor. The acoustics are great for acoustic instruments (guitar, banjo, dobro, mandolin) and for electric guitars/basses, but it is a fairly live environment.

He has a newer Yamaha Stage Custom kit, birch, with the standard two rack tom, one floor tom, two crash, one ride, and an additional splash. Obviously, snare and hat.

I have:

2 Shure KSM 32's
1 Shure KSM 27
2 Shure SM 57's
1 Neumann TLM 103
1 Neumann U87 Ai
and
a matched pair of AKG C414 XL II's
I also have one of the new Zoom H6's with the supplied M/S and 90/120 paired mics.

Yes, this is for an 8 year-old, but I don't see any reason why I can't make it into a learning process for me. Any job worth doing . . . .