Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
H. Tea

Loc: Norway
Back to making music -what gear to get?
      #1072643 - 31/10/13 03:12 PM
After several years away from making music and my gear stacked away I'm about to get started again.
I have several MIDI keyboards, synth modules, a sampler, drum machines and rack effects etc. and still use an Atari ST with Notator SL for sequencing (don't laugh! I find it a very capable, stable system with solid MIDI timing, so I see no reason to go DAW all the way). I also like physical gear with knobs, so I'm not ready to sell all my synths/synth modules and replace it with plugins. Still, I can see that some gear such as effects and my sampler could be better off replaced with DAW plugins. But I have no experience with the latter and having read discussions on hardware vs. software where people state that hardware often gives a better sound I'm not sure what to do.

Anyway, I never had anything for recording back then (except cassette tape) and need to start from scratch in that area. My Mac Pro 5.1. (2010) should be more than good enough to handle the task, and the first thing I probably need is a good sound-card.
A rack mountable one would be practical, but I'm not sure how many channels I'd need when not going all plugin. Would I be best off creating a virtual studio much like a traditional 16 or 24 track analog recording studio (meaning a 16 or 24 input sound card) since I'll be using external synths, or would I be just as well off with lesser inputs, but more recording takes, adding synths to a new track, or is the normal way simply to record anything sequenced "live" in one take to two tracks (stereo) meaning a cheap dual input sound card?

Edited by H. Tea (31/10/13 03:14 PM)

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
desmond

Re: Back to making music -what gear to get? new [Re: H. Tea]
      #1072649 - 31/10/13 03:52 PM