Main Forums >> Music Theory, Songwriting & Composition
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Anonymous
Unregistered

Improvisation In Classical Music
      #1002630 - 09/08/12 05:18 PM
Anyone who is sick of the stagnant 'elite interpreter' or 'reproducer' culture in classical music might find these videos interesting:

Improvising Mozart with Robert Levin 1

Improvising Mozart with Robert Levin 2

Levin believes that if Mozart were around today, he'd be more interested in developments made by Duke Ellington, Art Tatum, and Oscar Peterson than in the equivalent (parallel) classical scene.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
dubbmann

Loc: 3rd stone from the sun.
Re: Improvisation In Classical Music new [Re: ]
      #1002666 - 09/08/12 10:21 PM
thanks for the links! i know that elite performers are sometimes given leave by conductors, etc, to add a cadenza they have composed to the end of set piece. i am a mostly improvisational composer and take great satisfaction in reading about how JS Bach frequently improvised extensively, often being asked to do so by patrons like Frederic the Great, etc.

cheers,

d

--------------------
http://www.thinkbluecounttwo.com/
http://www.phichibe.com

Chaconne

Loc: Oxford
      #1003086 - 12/08/12 05:48 PM
All of the great composers were great improvisers.

Why this has been exterminated from the western teaching regime is a complete mystery.

--------------------

lappi oltermanni

Loc: raseborg/london
      #1003212 - 13/08/12 07:33 AM
Excellent topic!as an art form improv, is much neglected in many of europe's places and I am not sure why this is.perhaps people are frightened to take music to higher levels and would rather play it safe?perhaps but safe music is generally, not good music.same as food would you rather have a carrot and celery stick?or would you prefer sea bass on a pea and mint puree with safron rice?for me the latter would surely be the one and for many other people also too