Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
filipga

My first Groovebox/sampler new
      #1029762 - 22/01/13 03:11 PM
I'm about to get my first groovebox, but i don't really know what to look for. I tried some at a musicstore today, but you know, i can't really tell the difference. I'm considering these three:
Korg padKONTROL
Akai MPD 32
Akai MPD 26

My budget is between 2-300 dollar. I already own a Microkorg så maybe it would be good for me to continue along the Korg road with this sampler too? Ofcourse Akai was the inventors of this so they might be the "safe" buys? And i don't really know if i need the 32 or the 26 will be good enough for me.

I'm gonna use it to learn these grooveboxes, as it is my first of it's kind, just to play and have fun and last but not least to record some stuff. I'm not that much into recording. I've been playing the piano and guitar for 8 years now, but have never really been recording my own stuff. But now i have started to record in garageband. So at the moment the recordings from the groovebox is just to be used in garageband, but sooner or later i'm gonna change to ableton, Logic etc. So the idea is that i can use the sampler for this too, atleast until i need something bigger.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Richie Royale

Loc: Bristol, England.
Re: My first Groovebox/sampler new [Re: filipga]
      #1029768 - 22/01/13 03:21 PM
The three items listed are just controllers for software. If you want a sampler/groovebox look at the MPC range by Akai.

--------------------
http://soundcloud.com/richie-royale
http://www.mixcrate.com/richieroyale

BJG145

Loc: Norwich UK
      #1029770 - 22/01/13 03:31 PM
...or if you wanted a budget controller that integrates with a DAW you could also look at the Maschine Mikro.

N WILLIAMS

Re: My first Groovebox/sampler [Re: filipga]
      #1029809 - 22/01/13 08:05 PM