A collegue and friend of mine has been looking online for a Yamaha Tyros3 for about 6
months now, looking for a used or ex demo. having looking in the usual local music shops
and on eBay, he has found ones that have been in and around the £1500-£2300 mark. On
eBay, for example, he has found them at £1200, and then in the final dying minutes, they
have shot up, but yesterday he found a UK site called Music Lot -
www.musiclot.co.uk, which bills
itself as a music trading site for equipment.
On it, it showed it started on
13th Nov 2010 and opening to public 28th February, allows users to register accounts and
runs like eBay.
On it there were only a few registered memebers, not a huge
amound of items, but the main seller we could find was Umbrella Music, a shop in
London.
They had a review from a seller and so all seemed well. Looking at the
site we put the lack of items down to the fact that it was still establishing itself.
There were a number of items there with varying times left on their auctions.
Of the few items on there was an ex demo Tyros3 with a starting bid at £800, and at the
time, 130-ish people had viewed the item. So my friend registered an account, and placed a
bid of £800. It had run for a month nearly and there was an hour or so to go.
Watching patiently, the time ran down and he had won the bid.
We found the
number online for Umbrella Music so ran up to see if legit, and was told that the main guy
who was selling was out, but yeah, had won it and as soon as payment was received then it
would be dispatched. So he paid via PayPal, got all the receipts, recevied all the
auto-reply emails from the site. Result
Then I got a call off my friend later
on, saying that the seller had contacted him stating that the site shouldn't have been up
online, that it was being tested, how the hell did he find it and that he would now refund
the money he had paid through PayPal.
Now, I am obviously writing this as a
warning about the site and the dubious practices. Maybe I am cynical, but it wouldn't
surprise me if the site, which seems to have been set up by Umbrella Music, or they have
close ties etc... wasn't being watched and because they didn't help rack up the bid price,
or they expected it to be much higher, given on their site a T3 ex demo seems ot be going
for around £2k
Either way, we are both not happy and in addition to the
warning, does anyone have any idea of recourse? I am a trusting soul really and think if
it was a simple mistake, fair enough, but make some sort of compromise, but again, I think
maybe they were caught out.
With the payment being made and accepted by PayPal,
surely there is something there that can be done? Didnt the rules change with distance
selling and online advertising recently and is now covered by UK Law? Any advice would be
greatly appreciated
Thank you guys
Ritchie
--------------------
Engineering Surveyor and Musician
Pretty Vegas Northwest Function and Wedding Band
Wedding Band Blog