Main Forums >> Mac Music
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
beanbrain

Newbie advice new
      #956028 - 28/11/11 10:19 PM
Hi All,

Looking for some advice/direction.

I am not 100% if this is something that I want to do so have a small budget in mind but don't want to skimp if you know what I mean. I have a macbook pro and was looking into recording some vocals from myself and don't really know where to start. I want the ability to lay my vocals onto another artists music.

I have nothing other than the Mac at the moment so was hoping for some advice and guidance on what Microphone and what software to buy. I'm completely new to this but understand that getting the wrong mic of software can ruin any chance of enjoying it.

Thanks in advance for any help any of you can give!!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Will_m

Loc: Manchester
Re: Newbie advice new [Re: beanbrain]
      #956031 - 28/11/11 10:48 PM
Not sure what kind of budget you have but I'd look at getting a vocal/interface bundle. The basic kit I'd go for is:

An audio interface
Some decent headphones
A mic + cable + stand + pop shield
Recording software

Something like this might be a useful starting point:

http://www.dv247.com/computer-hardware/focusrite-2i2-and-se-x1-recording-b undle--92183

You'd just need some headphones and recording software, some of the cheaper options are reaper or logic express. There are a range of free ones too, I'm sure somebody else can help you out here.

You might also consider a vocal shield like the se electronics reflection filter,this will help if the room you record in has poor acoustics.

--------------------
http://www.williammorrismusic.com

beanbrain

#956069 - 29/11/11 07:07 AM
Thanks for the advice.

Looks just the ticket for what I'm looking for at the moment.

Does anyone else have any other ideas before I commit to it?

Thanks

Richie Royale

Loc: Bristol, England.
      #956087 - 29/11/11 09:17 AM