Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
yuriapt22

Loc: Russia, Moscow
Remastering new
      #968942 - 08/02/12 07:04 AM
Hi everyone!My friend asked me to remaster his 90s old master track but I've never done this before.
If somebody could help me with that I would appreciate it very much.I mean what plugins and its order I should use because I know it differs from general mastering and there are many options to hear from different people but I want to find my own way to do that referring to people answers.Thank you in advance.Best regards to everyone!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Dave Blackman

Re: Remastering new [Re: yuriapt22]
      #968954 - 08/02/12 09:14 AM
Does your friend have the original mixes, or will you be working from the already "mastered" version? And why does your friend feel it needs remastering?

WRT processing chains, it's impossible to say. What do you feel the track needs, if anything? It's a bit like saying "my friend has a head ache - can anyone tell me the tools and process for performing a frontal lobotomy" when all that may be needed is a couple of paracetamol.

--------------------
www.hiltongrovemastering.com

The Elf

Loc: Sheffield, UK
Re: Remastering new [Re: yuriapt22]
      #968958 - 08/02/12 09:26 AM
This is a bit a like saying 'a friend wants me to style their hair - how should I do it?'!

It's not the kind of thing anyone can tell you to do over a forum. It depends on the source material and what your friend wants doing with the material. Which tools you use, what order you chain them in and how you use them is dependent on the answers to those questions.

Maybe you could post a typical exanple so that the mastering experts here can form an opinion?

'Re-mastering' also implies that you have access to the un-mastered originals. Is this the case?

--------------------
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Mixedup