The government's UK copyright law site outlines the IPO and Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988, the principal legislation covering intellectual property rights in the United Kingdom and the work to which it applies.

Main Forums >> Music Business
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
gofodwr

Loc: Dinas Caerdydd
Question about joining PRS new
      #993784 - 20/06/12 05:58 PM
I've been making some music with a friend on and off for many years, and we're about to release a vinyl single which should also be on iTunes. Even without any publicity as yet, a well-known Welsh radio DJ has twice played a track off our Soundcloud page, so once the single is officially out we're expecting a bit of radioplay (promo CDs and publicity are ready to go, courtesy of the label).

My friend/partner-in-crime has had solo releases over the years and is a member of PRS. He's registered the single tracks and the one (currently) on Soundcloud with both of our names as 50% composer/author. I also have my own solo side-project which may well arouse some interest once the single comes out, so I think I should join PRS myself in case that gets some radioplay as well (in fact, the same DJ played a couple of my tracks from a demo CD I sent him a few years ago).

My only foray into this kind of thing was about 20 years ago when a band I was in released a cassette. We signed up to PPL and later got a cheque (not much, but it was welcome!). I find the whole PRS/MCPS/PPL thing very confusing - can anybody offer any advice? I've had a bit of a read on the PRS website and I think I can join for £50 - is that right?

Any advice at all will be very welcome!

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Wiseau

Re: Question about joining PRS new [Re: gofodwr]
      #993844 - 21/06/12 08:55 AM
I'd join SAS, they always get your money from any country, sometimes if it hasn't even been played.

--------------------
'You know it's a bad role when Nic Cage passes on it.'

GlynB