Main Forums >> Production - Mixing, Mastering, Gear & Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Martin WalkerModerator
Watcher Of The Skies


Joined: 28/02/01
Posts: 16381
Loc: Cornwall, UK
OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new
      #780538 - 20/10/09 02:13 PM
We've had quite a few discussions about various 'Cheap OEM' web sites on the SOS Forums recently, and they trade on the confusion that the term OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) seems to generate (largely because so many PC hardware/software sites offer both Retail and slightly cheaper OEM versions of products that come without extras, manuals, and so on).

Sadly some people fall for it, and even think they are paying for the real thing, so rather than start any more threads with links to dodgy web sites offering software at amazingly low prices, have a read of some of these existing threads instead:

www.soundonsound.com/forum/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=667699

www.soundonsound.com/forum/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=716268

www.soundonsound.com/forum/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=710691

www.soundonsound.com/forum/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=720714


Martin

--------------------
YewTreeMagic


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
benton



Joined: 17/02/11
Posts: 4
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Martin Walker]
      #895448 - 18/02/11 04:56 AM
Ive seen this fish before. Nice job on the heads up!


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
NickDawes



Joined: 10/12/10
Posts: 2
Loc: Nice, France
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: benton]
      #901382 - 16/03/11 01:36 PM
Really useful to know, thanks for the post!

--------------------
Online Mixing


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
DaleSmith



Joined: 29/04/08
Posts: 331
Loc: Hull, UK
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Martin Walker]
      #902023 - 18/03/11 08:54 PM
Cracked software is what it is. The sites do make it look legal, and people do buy them in good faith.
The amount of people doing it on ebay is amazing. I thought they would have tighter rules on this kinda thing.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=290545082057& ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT#ht_1058wt_1141

for example



Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
healthy diets



Joined: 12/06/11
Posts: 1
Loc: USA
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Martin Walker]
      #919964 - 12/06/11 05:01 PM
Recently I downloaded a few songs from a cheap site and saw my credit card was misused by them. One should be very careful while surfing unknown sites.


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
SafeandSound Masteri...



Joined: 23/03/08
Posts: 850
Loc: London UK
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Martin Walker]
      #970500 - 16/02/12 07:28 PM
EDIT: Innapropriate response relating to diet website.
Sorry please delete.


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
hollowsun



Joined: 20/01/05
Posts: 4507
Loc: Cowbridge, South Wales
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: DaleSmith]
      #970523 - 16/02/12 10:02 PM
Quote DaleSmith:

The amount of people doing it on ebay is amazing. I thought they would have tighter rules on this kinda thing.



You seem to be under the impression that eBay actually give a sh!t. They don't!

Impudent wastrels sell my free sound library stuff on the Bay of E claiming it to be their own work ... and eBay couldn't give a toss and you have to leap through hoops and suck pebbles through a straw to prove your copyright. It takes so bloody long that the feckers have long gone by the time eBay start to take notice by which time it's too late.

And when it happens again, you have to start all over again!

As long as eBay get their sales commission, they couldn't care less!

--------------------
Website / Music Lab Machines / Blog


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Henry Mark1



Joined: 05/03/12
Posts: 19
Loc: USA
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! [Re: Martin Walker]
      #991316 - 05/06/12 09:31 AM
Nice post. Thanks for sharing this useful resource here with us.


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Stoney



Joined: 01/09/04
Posts: 543
Loc: London
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Martin Walker]
      #1014615 - 20/10/12 03:16 PM
So is this legitimate?:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/XP-PROFESSIONAL-SP3-Windows-Professional/dp/B002OR YHKQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1350746057&sr=8-1

I thought I was buying a genuine copy from amazon - but it says OEM on the package...


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
James PerrettModerator



Joined: 10/09/01
Posts: 9654
Loc: The wilds of Hampshire
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Stoney]
      #1014632 - 20/10/12 04:53 PM
Windows XP is legitimately available as OEM software provided it is sold with hardware - hence the odd reference to hardware in that listing.

James.

--------------------
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration.
http://www.jrpmusic.net


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Stoney



Joined: 01/09/04
Posts: 543
Loc: London
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Martin Walker]
      #1014650 - 20/10/12 07:00 PM
No hardware with it - just CD and booklet


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Skerrick



Joined: 10/01/13
Posts: 192
Loc: Sydney NSW
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: DaleSmith]
      #1027861 - 10/01/13 03:47 AM
Quote DaleSmith:

Cracked software is what it is. The sites do make it look legal, and people do buy them in good faith.
The amount of people doing it on ebay is amazing. I thought they would have tighter rules on this kinda thing.

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2905450...

for example







yeah man i bought a sample pack for like $4 off ebay that had all the kick drums, hats snares etc from reason, logic, maschine, ableton, fl and cubase... :s

--------------------
www.soundcloud.com/skerrick


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Dr60hz



Joined: 04/04/13
Posts: 1
Loc: Illinois, USA
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Martin Walker]
      #1041366 - 04/04/13 04:58 PM
Nice post Martin. I am new to the forum and I like that people look out for each other here. I have been working with audio for almost 30 years now and the only advice I can add regarding software is, buy it directly from the manufacturer. Go to Waves or whatever company it is that makes what you are looking to purchase, and purchase it from them directly and you can't go wrong.


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Martin WalkerModerator
Watcher Of The Skies


Joined: 28/02/01
Posts: 16381
Loc: Cornwall, UK
Re: OEM Music Software - Don't Fall For It! new [Re: Dr60hz]
      #1042152 - 08/04/13 07:49 PM
Hi Richard, and welcome to the SOS Forums!

Yes, we like to look out for forum users, SOS readers and software developers alike here

We're all musicians after all!


Martin

--------------------
YewTreeMagic


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator     Back to top
Pages: 1

Rate this thread

Jump to

Extra Information
3 registered and 10 anonymous users are browsing this forum.

Moderator:  David Etheridge, James Perrett, zenguitar, Martin Walker, Hugh Robjohns, Zukan, Frank Eleveld, Will Betts 
Forum Permissions
      You cannot start new topics
      You cannot reply to topics
      HTML is enabled
      UBBCode is enabled
Rating: ***
Thread views: 24703

 

Home | Search | News | Current Issue | Tablet Mag | Articles | Forum | Subscribe | Shop | Readers Ads

Advertise | Information | Digital Editions | Privacy Policy | Support

May 2013
On sale now at main newsagents and bookstores (or buy direct from the
SOS Web Shop)
SOS current Print Magazine: click here for FULL Contents list
Click image for May 2013
DAW Tips from SOS
 

Email: Contact SOS

Telephone: +44 (0)1954 789888

Fax: +44 (0)1954 789895

Registered Office: Media House, Trafalgar Way, Bar Hill, Cambridge, CB23 8SQ, United Kingdom.

Sound On Sound Ltd is registered in England and Wales.

Company number: 3015516 VAT number: GB 638 5307 26

         

All contents copyright © SOS Publications Group and/or its licensors, 1985-2013. All rights reserved.
The contents of this article are subject to worldwide copyright protection and reproduction in whole or part, whether mechanical or electronic, is expressly forbidden without the prior written consent of the Publishers. Great care has been taken to ensure accuracy in the preparation of this article but neither Sound On Sound Limited nor the publishers can be held responsible for its contents. The views expressed are those of the contributors and not necessarily those of the publishers.

Web site designed & maintained by PB Associates | SOS | Relative Media