Main Forums >> Recording Techniques
        Print Thread

Pages: 1
Tempus Fugit

Loc: UK
Word Clocks (Big Ben) new
      #19259 - 22/09/04 04:02 PM
Hi everyone,

I would like some help with understanding how a good Word Clock works such as the Big Ben from Apogee (not the physics behind it, just basics as I cant seem to grasp it from reading there site).

I have only recently dipped my toes into the semi-pro digital realm, although I have been recording using analogue gear with PC/Atari for over 10 years.

I have read things like this from apogee’s Big Ben reviews :-

“I have to say that I am ASTOUNDED at the difference that the Big Ben makes.”

And

“There were essentially three differences that I noticed. First, the coherency of the sound. Secondly, there was extension at the high end frequency, and finally, the smudge in the mid-range was diminished.

How does it do this? and could it be useful for me?

Here is a list of most of my equipment that may use a word clock to help anyone wishing to help me out here decide its usefulness in my situation.

2x MOTU HD192
Crane Song Avocet studio controller
Tascam CDRW2000
Focusrite Liquid Channel

Other non word clocked equipment includes

3x Powercore Firewire
TL Audio Valve EQ
ATC SCM20ASL Pro monitors
Bittree Bantam Patchbay
Various Synths & High end plug ins Inc. Waves IR1.
Mackie HUI
MOTU Midi Express

Thank you

Also I don’t understand what the Digital inputs/Outputs are for on the Big Ben?

Whilst I’m here and you lot are feeling helpful is there anything else that would be beneficial to add at some point to the studio to improve the sound (within the price range of equipment I already have). I mention this as I stumbled across a company called dangerous who claim to be able to improve the digital signals with their summing equipment? Again way over my head.

If this has been covered then please let me know politely and if you are feeling helpful today then please help me out.

Thanks

--------------------