You are here

Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:25 am

Hi All,

I am currently running Logic 8 on a macbook pro. I have just purchased battery 3 and an mpd24 contorller.

I am struggling finding out how to multi output battery via the mpd into logic. (There is nothing in the manual).

Can anyone tell me how to set up the mpd and battery so I can tap a kick into one channel, go to the next channel, tap in a snare go to the next and so on...

I have selected the multi output options in battery but it's not playing ball.

Any help would be greatly received.

Thanks

S
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby Mike L » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:35 am

All you have to do is to set up virtual pads to individual outputs and notes/pads (controller) within Battery. It is how I do it in Cubase.
Mike L
Regular
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:41 am

Thanks mate,

If anyone can help me with Logic that would be great.
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby Richie Royale » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:45 am

I've not used Logic in such a long time, but when I last used it, it couldn't cope with multiple outputs from instuments (we're talking 7/8 years ago). A friendly Logic user will be along soon I'm sure, but I seem to recall that setting up multiple outputs is a bit more complicated on Logic than Cubase, which automatically comes up with the outputs.

Some pointers here with reference to the EXS, but the later steps should apply to Battery.

http://support.apple.com/kb/TA22918?viewlocale=en_US
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4429
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:51 am

That's a really interesting article actually cheers!

Still on the hunt for a logic 8 bod!
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:56 am

When I load battery I have the multi output options but i don't know how to link those options to individual tracks. When I play the samples on the mpd I can also play them on my keyboard.

How do I seperate the two?

Any help would greatly received!
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby Richie Royale » Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:57 am

Having looked at your question again, I'm not sure what you are trying to achieve with the MPD. It is just a MIDI controller, so you would just choose it as the input on Logic and Battery as the output, it will then play the relevant key that the pad is assigned to (I presume it starts at C1 on the first pad) So assign a kick to cell 1 on Battery and pad one will play it back, snare on pad 2 etc.
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4429
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:04 pm

I understand what you are saying.

I want to get the multi outputs working so I do not have to add battery to each individual track.
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby Richie Royale » Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:06 pm

Not sure on that one then, sorry.
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4429
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:08 pm

No worries,

Thanks for the info anyway...

Any other help please!
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby Mike L » Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:05 pm

Image

At the bottom right corner (under volume fader) you can see Ch. 1/2 (a drop down box). This is how you can pick an AUDIO channel for each cell. As I assume it is what you are asking about.

As I said before I don't know how to enable or disable multioutputs in Logic for a given VSTi. I think the manual could help.
Mike L
Regular
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby desmond » Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:34 pm

Multi-output instruments are handled fairly easily in Logic 8.

Instanciate your plugin into a software instrument track. Make sure you choose the multi-output version, *not* the stereo version of the plugin.

Now, in it's channel strip in the mixer you will see a little "+" icon - each time you click it, Logic will create a new aux channel and pre-select the next output or output pair from the plugin to the aux channel input.

Now, inside the plugin, whichever sounds you route to the additional plugin outputs will show up on the respective aux channel in Logic's mixer.

> There is nothing in the manual

What you actually mean is "I couldn't find it in the manual", which is rather different.

Multi-output instruments are discussed, logically enough, in the chapter entitled "Working with Instruments & Effects" -> "Accessing Multi-instrument outputs" on page 214 of the main reference manual.

User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6499
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Dec 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby Mike L » Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:01 pm

desmond wrote:
Multi-output instruments are discussed, logically enough, in the chapter entitled "Working with Instruments & Effects" -> "Accessing Multi-instrument outputs" on page 214 of the main reference manual.

What a relief Desmond. As a PC user, hearing all that stories how intuitive Macs are I've started to think that Apple software does not require manuals at all
Mike L
Regular
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby desmond » Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:29 pm

I find the "I" word ("intuitive") tends to get rather misused these days, as a shortcut to "I shouldn't have to put in any effort to learn this stuff".

If you are generally competent on a computer, pretty much all software that doesn't require specialist knowledge is easy enough to get the basics down (though not necessarily the "tricks").

There are now plenty of Logic users coming to a DAW for the first time that don't know such fundamentals as MIDI, audio, software instruments. Regardless of how intuitive a DAW is, these people are going to require to put in some effort to learn this stuff. And part of that process is the manual.

Put it this way, I don't have much knowledge about 3D graphics - a little, but not much. Sit me down in front of a copy of Maya, and I'm not going to be saying "Wow, Maya is really unintuitive!" - I'm going to be saying "OMG, I have sh*tloads of stuff to learn".

And I'm going to be cracking the manual, and using whatever other teaching methods I can (online communities, video tutorials, maybe even the odd book...).

And when I've learnt that stuff, and am competent in using Maya - *then* I might have the perspective to comment on whether the software is intuitive or not...

Whoops, another mini-rant tangent, there...!
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6499
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Dec 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:12 pm

Desmond you are the man.

It's odd as my battery manual only has 85 pages are you referring to the logic manual.

Anyway thanks for the info!

S
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby Mike L » Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:22 pm

Mike L
Regular
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:43 pm

Ah,

Got my head round the aux tracks! How do I multi output MIDI tracks in Battery?

DESMOND!!!!!!!!
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby chris... » Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:46 pm

Check you have the latest Battery (via the NI Service Centre). I seem to remember there was an update needed to make multiple outputs work with Logic 8.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2704
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby chris... » Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:56 pm

shawsey79 wrote:I understand what you are saying.

I want to get the multi outputs working so I do not have to add battery to each individual track.
Oh - just read this bit!

If you're creating more than 1 instance of battery, then you probably shouldn't be. Instead, consider creating "same instrument" tracks. This is how you have multiple tracks triggering the same instance of battery.

I typically have 10 tracks of drums (for kick, snare, hat, perc etc) all triggering one instance of battery.

This is entirely independent of battery's audio output configuration.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2704
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby Mike L » Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:03 pm

Not sure if I'm right but you still seem to confuse MIDI and audio tracks.
Mike L
Regular
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:07 pm

Chris how do I create the same instrument tracks?

We will get there in the end!
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:41 pm

Sounds exactly what I am after doing!
If you could help me through it that would be great.

S
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby desmond » Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:56 pm

Don't confuse multitimbral instruments with multi-output instruments - they are two completely different functions.

Multi-timbral instruments receive MIDI on multiple MIDI channels, each MIDI channel triggering a different part/sound in the instrument.

Multi-output instruments let you route the audio output of different sounds to different audio outputs, which let you process the audio individually (eg, putting a reverb only on the snare channel, etc).

Giving that you now know how to set up multiple audio outputs from your instrument, you know sem to want to know how to configure multiple tracks feeding different MIDI channels (nothing to do with audio).

In Logic, hit the create new track button, select software instrument and check "multi-timbral", and choose how many parts (MIDI channels) you want - probably 8, I'd guess (I'm not a Battery user).

Instantiate Battery and you have individual tracks sending to each MIDI channel.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6499
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Dec 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby chris... » Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:53 pm

desmond wrote:Don't confuse multitimbral instruments with multi-output instruments - they are two completely different functions.


Good advice. However, in this case, Battery isn't multitimbral. (Or at least, if it can be multitimbral, I've never used it that way). Rather, everything's on the one MIDI channel, with MIDI note value determining which drum plays.

To set this up, create the first track as normal. Record e.g the kick drum part. Then, while this track is selected, go to the Track menu and choose "New with Same Channel Strip / Instrument". On this track record e.g the snare part. And so on for hi-hats etc. The "same instrument" parts all trigger the same instance of Battery.

I find this aspect of Logic a little more convoluted than in Cubase. But I'll maybe get used to it one day
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2704
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby shawsey79 » Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:14 pm

Fandabidosi!

Just what I was after!

Boom boom boom!

Thanks to everyone for their info and especially Desmond for the entertaining rant!

Now where did I put that manual?



S
shawsey79
Poster
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby desmond » Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:37 pm

Chris Edwards wrote:I find this aspect of Logic a little more convoluted than in Cubase. But I'll maybe get used to it one day


Hm. When I want another track on the same audio channel or instrument, I just hit F3, which is my "Create track for same object" key command. F4 does "create track with next object". Use them all the time.

So a new track is just one key press away - not particularly convoluted

I think what most often happens with non-Logic users is they don't understand that with most other daws, a horizontal arrange track is always tied to one particular mixer channel, it's a one-to-one relationship.

In Logic, it has this (absolutely awesome feature I've relied on for years) that there is no direct relationship between horizontal arrange "tracks" and the things that the regions on those tracks "play through" - whether it's an audio channel 4 object, or a software channel 17 object, or an environment arpeggiator object or any other environment object.

This means you can have multiple horizontal arrange tracks all playing through the same audio channel, or all playing the same software instrument etc - great for arranging.

Once you understand this relationship, then it'll appear (hopefully) less convoluted. It's a power user feature for sure, and one that you don't have to take advantage of (and Logic 8's new track creation features and other gui reworkings try to hide this a little bit) but it's a handy one.

Sometimes people think some things are way more complicated than they actually are. Want another track? - just create one...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6499
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Dec 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Battery 3/MPD24 & Logic Pro

Postby chris... » Thu Apr 30, 2009 5:20 pm

Thanks for your reply. I'd love to discuss this further - but currently lack sufficient free time to devote the attention deserved. Will hopefully look again soon...
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2704
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest