You are here

Pro Tools session export to Reaper question

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Pro Tools session export to Reaper question

Postby Ralph Wilson » Tue Apr 03, 2012 10:41 pm

Hi there,

apologies in advance for the dumb question. We (an amateur rock band) had a day's recording at a professional studio 6 weeks ago. Without boring you with the story, it now appears that we will be given the individual instrument tracks from the session rather than the two songs mixed and mastered.

The session was recorded in Pro Tools, and the only system we have to mix on is a Reaper system. I have no experience with PT or access to a PT system. What format should I ask the studio to provide the tracks as (presumably some kind of .wav) to ease the import into Reaper or for ease of transfer to another studio for mixing/mastering? I have a little experience of recording/mixing although I am primarily a musician. I've got a few years back issues of SOS to help too!

thanks in advance,

Ralph
Ralph Wilson
Poster

Re: Pro Tools session export to Reaper question

Postby shufflebeat » Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:14 pm

I have a similar dilemma at the moment, looking to transfer from Logic to Reaper. It's a genuine problem discussed in all kinds of places and certainly not a dumb question.

It depends to some extent on how your session went. If for instance you all went in, pressed record and played together then just get files WAV or AIFF and line them up side by side.

If you did many takes starting and ending halfway through the song you might have multiple versions to line up, this is ok if you recorded to a click, otherwise you're relying on the way pt stamps the files of which I am unfortunately unversed but someone here can put us both straight.

It'll be fairly straightforward if you approach it systematically. Keep us posted.
shufflebeat
Frequent Poster

People with black cats shouldn't get black stair carpet.