You are here

Guitar amp head in control room, cab in live?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Guitar amp head in control room, cab in live?

Postby Jonny Duddle » Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:52 pm

Hi, I was just wondering if I had it right in thinking that if I had a guitar amp head in the control room, I could use one of the stereo jack returns from control to live room to power the cab in there?

I know there are 'speaker' jack cables, but I wondered if these were just rubbish or if any can do, or if that distance is too far (would only be about 3m in this case). Could this cause too much heat in the multicore? Or something along that line.

Thanks!

Jonny
User avatar
Jonny Duddle
Regular
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Guitar amp head in control room, cab in live?

Postby Matt Houghton » Tue Mar 05, 2013 5:19 pm

The length is fine, and it's a common enough practice, but you need the right cables. Read this.
Matt Houghton
Regular
Posts: 471
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:00 pm

SOS Reviews Editor


Re: Guitar amp head in control room, cab in live?

Postby ef37a » Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:19 pm

Depends!
If you wanted to send a mashed 100watter into a 4Ohm cab I would say no.
If 20 watts into an 8 or 16R cab, assuming standard mic cable fine.

But is there no way to pull a bit of garden orange thru? The 6amp stuff would be fine for such a short run.
Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7194
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: northampton uk

#They did not listen, they are not listening still...Perhaps they never will?#


Re: Guitar amp head in control room, cab in live?

Postby Jonny Duddle » Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:55 pm

Thanks for the replies!

I've done a bit of reading too, which quite annoyed me because there seemed to be so much out there with no final answer! That link is helpful though.

It is likely to be 100watt amps, what I was thinking, because I have a few spare spaces in my wall panel is if I go-

Amp- Jack- 4m(ish) of THIS- jack wall plate chassis- 2m(ish) jack speaker cable- Cab

Think that 1.5mm cable is enough? Or go for the 2.5? It suggests 1.5 for short runs and under 100watt... Then again bass may go through which can be a lot more than 100!

Glad I have asked this and done some reading, might have just melted my multicore! That would have been interesting...

Jonny
User avatar
Jonny Duddle
Regular
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Guitar amp head in control room, cab in live?

Postby MarkOne » Wed Mar 06, 2013 2:14 pm

A length of 13A common or garden flexible mains cable would be fine.

It is, after all happy with a 3 bar 3KW electric fire

Unless you subscribe to all that 'special wires' woo woo. In which case, go with solid silver bus bars coated in woven unobtanium.
MarkOne
Frequent Poster
Posts: 973
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Bristol, England, Earth, Peruses Gap, Milky Way

Re: Guitar amp head in control room, cab in live?

Postby Jonny Duddle » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:13 pm

So that's okay for anything from 100watt to thousands of watt bass amp signal for my 6meter-ish run?
User avatar
Jonny Duddle
Regular
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Guitar amp head in control room, cab in live?

Postby ef37a » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:26 pm

Jonny Duddle wrote:So that's okay for anything from 100watt to thousands of watt bass amp signal for my 6meter-ish run?

Well the "official" rating for 1.5mmsq is 13amps which, for a 4Ohm load would give you 676watts but that 13A is wildly conservative for even the most compressed music signal so yes, 1kW amp easy.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7194
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: northampton uk

#They did not listen, they are not listening still...Perhaps they never will?#



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BellyFish and 2 guests