You are here

Do all the TotalMix of all the RME products provided built-in effecters?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Do all the TotalMix of all the RME products provided built-in effecters?

Postby Parco » Mon Jul 22, 2013 11:53 am

Or only the products that claimed FX inside provides the effecters (e.g. compressor, reverb, EQ) just like HDSPe MADI FX, Fireface UFX and UCX?
Parco
Regular
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:00 am
Location: Hong Kong

Sonar PLT + Foobar2000 -> ASIO + MMCSS + Windows 10 -> SIIG NN-E20012-S2 -> Echo AudioFire 4 -> HH MX250 + Wharf Delta70 A native USA style contemporary R&B artist in HongKong


Re: Do all the TotalMix of all the RME products provided built-in effecters?

Postby The Elf » Mon Jul 22, 2013 3:31 pm

TotalMix does not provide effects with hardware products that do not support it - my Fireface 800, for example.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9983
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Do all the TotalMix of all the RME products provided built-in effecters?

Postby Eric B » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:38 pm

The Fireface UC does not have these built-in effects. The UFX does, but I'm not sure about the UCX.

I'm pretty sure they're hardware based and the TotalMix software just controls the levels.
User avatar
Eric B
Poster
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Do all the TotalMix of all the RME products provided built-in effecters?

Postby Parco » Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:04 am

Eric B wrote:
I'm pretty sure they're hardware based

I'm sure too.
Parco
Regular
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:00 am
Location: Hong Kong

Sonar PLT + Foobar2000 -> ASIO + MMCSS + Windows 10 -> SIIG NN-E20012-S2 -> Echo AudioFire 4 -> HH MX250 + Wharf Delta70 A native USA style contemporary R&B artist in HongKong


Re: Do all the TotalMix of all the RME products provided built-in effecters?

Postby Goddard » Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:06 am

Not sure about every model.

I do know that on the Babyface, Totalmix FX processes the eq fx onboard but needs to use the host computer for processing of echo/reverb fx. No dynamics fx (compressor) provided.
User avatar
Goddard
Frequent Poster
Posts: 997
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 11:00 pm

 


Re: Do all the TotalMix of all the RME products provided built-in effecters?

Postby chris... » Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:45 am

Goddard wrote:Not sure about every model.

I do know that on the Babyface, Totalmix FX processes the eq fx onboard but needs to use the host computer for processing of echo/reverb fx.

I guess that makes some sense - doing eq onboard if avoiding the computer is necessary to minimise latency. Whereas latency isn't a problem for echo/reverb.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2708
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Do all the TotalMix of all the RME products provided built-in effecters?

Postby Parco » Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:57 am

Goddard wrote:Not sure about every model.

I do know that on the Babyface, Totalmix FX processes the eq fx onboard but needs to use the host computer for processing of echo/reverb fx. No dynamics fx (compressor) provided.

So how about the HDSPe AES and HDSPe MADI FX?
Parco
Regular
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:00 am
Location: Hong Kong

Sonar PLT + Foobar2000 -> ASIO + MMCSS + Windows 10 -> SIIG NN-E20012-S2 -> Echo AudioFire 4 -> HH MX250 + Wharf Delta70 A native USA style contemporary R&B artist in HongKong



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jeraldo and 3 guests