You are here

Things you wish your DAW could do better

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby Michael Dow » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:47 pm

HI guys

I'm intersted to know what features you wish your DAW could do better. Or what it doesnt seem to do at all.

Just be interesting to know the gripes people have with their DAW's. Im not at college by the way so this isn't for coursework!
Michael Dow
Frequent Poster
Posts: 724
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby ken long » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:50 pm

Michael Dow wrote:HI guys

I'm intersted to know what features you wish your DAW could do better. Or what it doesnt seem to do at all.

Just be interesting to know the gripes people have with their DAW's. Im not at college by the way so this isn't for coursework!

Spot mode in Logic.
User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3161
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: The Orient, East London

I'm All Ears.


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby steve355 » Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:02 pm

Here's one - I'd like Cubase to have a way of managing production of an album, from initial sketches to mastering. I'd like mixes to be able to be promoted to some kind of final mixes area, and then a specific mastering window (akin to the arrange window but optimised for mastering).

An album management window could provide immediate access to any mix, and automate some key tasks, provide a "make" facility (cf IT programming), an automatically generated to do list, and version control.

I'd also like a feature to make my songs good.
User avatar
steve355
Frequent Poster
Posts: 783
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby ken long » Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:03 pm

steve355 wrote:
I'd also like a feature to make my songs good.

User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3161
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: The Orient, East London

I'm All Ears.


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby SecretSam » Fri Jul 30, 2010 1:06 pm

Ableton Live 8. A notepad would be handy like the one in Cubase. And maybe a slightly smoother Gate plugin. Nothing else whatsoever. I cite it to our developers as the most perfect user interface I have ever seen.
SecretSam
Frequent Poster
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Officially, I do not exist.

Instant gratification is actually pretty good. It's fast as well.


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby The Elf » Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:05 pm

Cubase:

Tab to transient.
Ability to feed back an FX track send to itself.
Quantise to scale in VariAudio.
Multi-pass mix rendering – to render both offline and real-time effects without seeing the dreaded ‘processor overload’ message at 98% complete.
Ability to apply stretch processes across multiple time-aligned tracks. Currently, doing any stretching of multiple phase-aligned drum tracks is disastrous.
Re-instatement of the Studio Module, so that Cubase gets smarter about MIDI ports and channels.
Drum trigger detection, with crosstalk elimination.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9968
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby BenLD » Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:01 pm

Logic 9 -

Import a tempo list from another project

(if anyone knows a way of doing this - please tell me!)

Ben
BenLD
Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby Studio Support Gnome » Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:46 pm

easy ben... copy and paste

(i just tested it with both projects open at the same time....)


edit menu, (in temp list editor) select all.
copy

open tempo list editor in 2nd oproject

paste.

job done
User avatar
Studio Support Gnome
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2573
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: UK *but works all over the place… mostly Europe based*

Don't get the hump when i tell you it's going to be expensive, it's not my fault, you picked the site/building/room


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby Studio Support Gnome » Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:48 pm

also tested having closed first project, still pastes happily in to new project.
User avatar
Studio Support Gnome
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2573
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: UK *but works all over the place… mostly Europe based*

Don't get the hump when i tell you it's going to be expensive, it's not my fault, you picked the site/building/room


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby stinkfinger » Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:00 pm

LOGIC:

1. Pitch shift.

2. Snap.

That is all.

ps. it can already do both these things, but both are truly awful.
stinkfinger
Regular
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby mhaigh » Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:09 pm

Sonar -

-improve notation
-audiosnap is almost impossible to use - simplify and improve
-make track envelopes easier to work with
User avatar
mhaigh
Regular
Posts: 444
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Hockley, Essex

 


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby Paul Nagle » Fri Jul 30, 2010 5:20 pm

Logic:

Transpose to scale
Quantize on record
Record on MIDI note
Transpose of audio parts
Enough banks in environment to allow all my JV2080 cards to be addressed (current limit is around 15 IIRC)
Ability to step-time replace existing note attributes (used this a lot on Cubase)
A drum editor would be nice to have
Would also be nice if it were more configurable in terms of appearance (e.g. screensets aren't remembered across two monitors when you're using the on-board dual monitor outputs).

That's enough for today.
User avatar
Paul Nagle
Regular
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Lancs

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby chris... » Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:02 pm

Paul Nagle wrote:Logic:

[...]

(e.g. screensets aren't remembered across two monitors when you're using the on-board dual monitor outputs).

Oh. Was thinking about a 2-monitor setup. Don't quite follow this - can anyone elaborate on what doesn't work ?

I use Logic screensets alot, and assumed windows in one screenset could be placed on either screen, and recalled correctly.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2703
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby desmond » Sat Jul 31, 2010 5:56 am

I've used screensets on dual monitors since Logic 4. Works fine.

"Quantize on record" - what do you mean here?

Logic:
- Bouncing using multiple cores would be nice
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6499
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Dec 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby Ruaridh » Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:15 am

steve355 wrote:Here's one - I'd like Cubase ...

I'd also like a feature to make my songs good.


You need to tick the option "Make songs good", it's hidden it the "Brain to MIDI" menu.

R.
User avatar
Ruaridh
Regular
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:00 am
Ruaridh (Pronounced "Rory").
Cubase 5.5 Guitars & Beer.

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby BenLD » Sat Jul 31, 2010 9:08 am

Max! wrote:easy ben... copy and paste

(i just tested it with both projects open at the same time....)


edit menu, (in temp list editor) select all.
copy

open tempo list editor in 2nd oproject

paste.

job done

Excellent, thanks Max!

Sometimes the most obvious solution is the last one you think of...

Ben
BenLD
Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby BenLD » Sat Jul 31, 2010 9:13 am

stinkfinger wrote:LOGIC:

1. Pitch shift.

2. Snap.

That is all.

ps. it can already do both these things, but both are truly awful.

Agreed - and why can't you get the grid and the snap to reflect the quantize value when you're working with triplets? (or can you? he says cautiously awaiting an obvious solution) I'm sure Cubase could do this aeons ago...

B
BenLD
Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby desmond » Sat Jul 31, 2010 9:14 am

BenLD wrote:Agreed - and why can't you get the grid and the snap to reflect the quantize value when you're working with triplets? (or can you? he says cautiously awaiting an obvious solution)


Change the Division value to /12 or /24, rather than /16. It's in the transport.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6499
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Dec 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby MarcusH » Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:59 am

Fewer bugs in Logic (though things are improving)

Marcus
MarcusH
Regular
Posts: 268
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Tanzania
You live. You learn.

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby chris... » Sat Jul 31, 2010 11:47 am

desmond wrote:I've used screensets on dual monitors since Logic 4. Works fine.
Ta.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2703
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby BenLD » Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:19 pm

desmond wrote:
BenLD wrote:Agreed - and why can't you get the grid and the snap to reflect the quantize value when you're working with triplets? (or can you? he says cautiously awaiting an obvious solution)

Change the Division value to /12 or /24, rather than /16. It's in the transport.

Ah right - cool! I think Cubase used to do it automatically when you changed the quantize value

Perhaps we need more threads like this one - or maybe we should all read the manual

Speaking of which - another gripe - bring back a paper manual please!!!!

Ben
BenLD
Regular
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby desmond » Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:57 pm

BenLD wrote:Speaking of which - another gripe - bring back a paper manual please!!!!


Eek: no - PDF's are searchable* (main reason), you can always have it with you (laptop/iPhone etc), and you can copy/paste out of, and save trees and shelf space.

With large applications, it's getting to the point where maintaining real paper documentation is almost unmanageable (shipping/printing/updating etc). The last major Logic versions (LP6pro/7/8 etc) boxes were something ridiculous like 6kilos. Imagine shipping thousands of those, versus the LP9 boxes...

* This is important because almost no-one *reads* manuals, they are mostly designed to be references - ie you find the appropriate bit containing the info you need at the time. This makes searching a key feature - especially if you don't quite know the exact name or the info you want. Indexing can't really do this for you. Plus you usually get separate update manuals or notes that contain new information or changes to older ones.

I vastly prefer electronic docs these days, and probably an iPad as a reading device (as I type, I'm dragging a laptop around the house reading a book, and it's not comfortable or convenient at all... but that's another topic we've covered to death )

There's no doubt that electronic docs are the future - and as the last generation to be raised on paper books disappears we will be left with a generation more familiar with electronic docs than paper ones - ones that won't say things like "Reading just feels better with "books" rather than on a screen..."
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6499
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Dec 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby poplab studios » Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:19 pm

Logic>make it stable!
poplab studios
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:00 pm

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby Folderol » Sat Jul 31, 2010 4:38 pm

I want mine to improve its intelligence and only record the bits I play correctly.

One of the guitar plugins has a control marked 'Brilliance' but it doesn't seem to help
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4620
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Rochester, UK

Save paradise, Pull up a parking lot!


Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby Paul Nagle » Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:16 pm

desmond wrote:I've used screensets on dual monitors since Logic 4. Works fine.

"Quantize on record" - what do you mean here?

Do you have a graphics card in your Mac with dual output? If so I believe this works fine. I however use the two standard outputs on my Mac Pro (had to buy a weird little adapter for the second one) and it definitely doesn't remember a screenset that is stretched across the two monitors. I've asked on the Mac Pro forum too. It's weird because other programs I use (Ableton, Wavelab) can remember they're stretched across two monitors no problem, only Logic fails to do so (or did last time I tried).

Quantize on record means auto quantize incoming data so if you're looping a drum part you can build it up by hitting a single key to get ultra-tight kicks etc. hit the key again and keep playing, adding stuff in more loosely, hit the key again and overdub some robotic high hats etc. Very fast to do (and also there's no need to go and bloody well glue all the regions together afterwards). Sorry, just don't like the way Logic maintains all those separate overlaid regions for MIDI. You can tell I'm an old Cubase fan from Atari days eh?

Otherwise, it's ace.
User avatar
Paul Nagle
Regular
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Lancs

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby chris... » Sat Jul 31, 2010 9:44 pm

Paul Nagle wrote:Do you have a graphics card in your Mac with dual output? If so I believe this works fine. I however use the two standard outputs on my Mac Pro

So using 2 outputs on an extra card is fine, but using 2 built-in outputs isn't ?

Wonder what happens using 1 built-in output, and 1 output on an extra card.

And interesting to see what happens with the new MPs, that come with 3 outputs built-in...
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2703
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby steve355 » Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:55 pm

poplab studios wrote:Logic>make it stable!

That is a good point. DAWs should handle errors caused by 3rd party plugins and drivers gracefully, rather than becoming unstable, crashing, and then the DAW manufacturer blaming the 3rd party s/w. There is no reason this cannot be done. It really is time they invested in making them rock solid rather than adding zillions of pointless "features".
User avatar
steve355
Frequent Poster
Posts: 783
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby Paul Nagle » Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:55 am

chris... wrote:
So using 2 outputs on an extra card is fine, but using 2 built-in outputs isn't ?

Weird innit, let's just say it was one of the disappointments I had when discovering iLogic. The main initial disappointment was its lack of stability which left a bad taste for months. I have to say that it gradually improved with various revisions and took a big step forwards when an update was issued for my Focusrite soundcard app. Touch wood not one crash in over 3 weeks so I hope I'm not jinxing it (used to be a crash every other day or so). Still really miss Cubase's editors though and that transpose to scale thing most of all. Hey ho...
User avatar
Paul Nagle
Regular
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Lancs

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby MC Deli » Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:38 pm

Logic - to be able to label each note/key in the piano roll editor when using ESX/3rd party drum kit instruments. I know you can use the hyper editor and do something similar but OMG after 10 years I still miss the Cubase drum editor - just being able to see what key corresponds to what drum, and be able to customise the labels - that would improve my quality of life. Please Mr Jobs please!

(if you open the global tracks in the piano roll view there is even space there FFS)
MC Deli
Regular
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Things you wish your DAW could do better

Postby franciskimberley » Sun Aug 01, 2010 7:47 pm

Reaper - import midi groove quantize

(i'm really hoping someone might step in, say i'm being thick and then tell me how to do it )
User avatar
franciskimberley
Regular
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:00 pm

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests