You are here

How to master mastering..?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

How to master mastering..?

Postby ChrisCrinkle » Sat Dec 31, 2011 1:03 am

Ok this is undoubtably gonna turn into a wall of text but here goes. This is also my first post and as relevant to my question i better explain a bit about what i do:

I'm a bedroom musician artist. I've made music on computers since the mid 90s and possibly a bit sooner. I started out with OCTAMED (amiga/early pcs), then moved on to BUZZ (basically a nicer version of OCTAMED), and saved up and bought Ableton LIVE in the summer just gone. Abletons a lot different to those previous two, but is much newer (BUZZ hasn't been updated in about ten years). At first ableton seemed weird and difficult, but after pennies started falling into place, it started to blow my mind, happy days!

Except, despite all my song making, which stretches over 3 and a half albums. My songs have pretty much always suffered from one simple problem: They're not very loud.

Now dont worry, i know about volume levels and generally "post process" songs in another great audio program, GOLDWAVE, its simple, but good for my needs. The problem is, i see my songs waveforms and they seem to go right up to full volume, but when i play the songs next to professionally done music, even my loudest seems somewhat quieter than the "pro music".

At my wits end, i stumbled into my local music shop who recommended the SOS magazine. I got it and here i am!.

Music wise. I try to make sure i listen, when fine tuning instruments volume levels, to the song from three sets of speakers: my headphones, PC speakers, and then my 250watt loud speakers (in that order) and note what volumes sound best through each one, and then go somewhere in the middle.