You are here

SSL Nucleus headphone output

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

SSL Nucleus headphone output

Postby sambrox » Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:18 pm

Hi all.

Just a quickie. Will I be getting the best from my Beyer Dynamic DT880 Pro headphones with the built-in headphone output of my SSL Nucleus? The DT880s are the 250 ohm variants. On SSL's website, the rating for the headphone output looks like this : Image

To be perfectly honest, those specs go right over my head, so if anyone who's more tech-savvy would help me out, that'd be much appreciated.

Cheers!

Sam
User avatar
sambrox
Regular
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 12:00 am

Re: SSL Nucleus headphone output

Postby Jonnypopisical » Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Call me crazy but why don't you plug them in and try them
Jonnypopisical
Frequent Poster
Posts: 819
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Oakham

Mac Pro, Logic Pro, lots of software and 17 hard drives!


Re: SSL Nucleus headphone output

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Jan 12, 2012 4:53 pm

The Nucleus headphone amp is quite respectable and it will work fine with your Beyers. However, if you are particularly demanding there are better standalone headphone amps out there, like the Benchmark DAC1, the Grace Design M903 and several others...

But I'd get used to the Nucleus first and decide whether or not it does what you require before looking for alternatives. I suspect you'll be quite happy with it.

Hugh
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 16792
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK

Technical Editor, Sound On Sound


Re: SSL Nucleus headphone output

Postby skipstream » Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:21 pm

Off topic a little but to the OP - you have a Nucleus obviously and it's something on my wish list. But I also want to get a slave PC and VE Pro to link to my master PC - the slave will be running my samples and the master my DAW etc. VE Pro handles the network side of things between the 2. It uses ethernet.

So, onto my question - am I right in thinking that the Nucleus also uses the ethernet to connect to the DAW as if so, I can't use both by the sounds of it

Thanks and sorry for off topic Q.
skipstream
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:00 am

Re: SSL Nucleus headphone output

Postby Jabba1 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:13 am

skipstream wrote:Off topic a little but to the OP - you have a Nucleus obviously and it's something on my wish list.

+1.

God yes... I could afford it but doubt I've got the talent to make such an investment justifiable!
Jabba1
Regular
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:00 am

Re: SSL Nucleus headphone output

Postby sambrox » Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:12 am

Call me crazy but why don't you plug them in and try them
Yes yes, but what I wanted to know was if I would be getting the best out of them. Obviously, that's hard to know when you have nothing to judge it against...

But I'd get used to the Nucleus first and decide whether or not it does what you require before looking for alternatives. I suspect you'll be quite happy with it.
Ah, thanks Hugh. That was the answer I was hoping for!

So, onto my question - am I right in thinking that the Nucleus also uses the ethernet to connect to the DAW as if so, I can't use both by the sounds of it
It does indeed use the ethernet port for the control surface functions, whereas the audio interface functions via USB.

I could afford it but doubt I've got the talent to make such an investment justifiable!
I'm not sure I have the talent either, but I landed a couple of lucky punches and scored a couple of ad jobs. This one earned me the equivalent of £12,500, so the missus couldn't complain too much about me spunking two-and-a-half on the SSL

Cheers all!
Sam
User avatar
sambrox
Regular
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 12:00 am


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest