You are here

Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby mr william milk » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:49 pm

Hi... Searched high and low for an answer to this and i'm sure it's common sense... I'm trying to route the phono input from mackie Big Knob to the DAW input on the same unit so i can record and sample vinyl in my DAW. I'm using saffire pro 40 and ableton live. Everything else works fine on the Big Knob... two sets of speakers hooked up and outputs of saffire, CD player and tape deck into the three inputs... Suspect the answer is in the routing buttons, but i can't figure it out... phono plays fine thru speakers but not registering on audio inputs of a stereo channel in ableton live... thanks in advance and hope i made myself clear x
mr william milk
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby BJG145 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:25 pm

mr william milk wrote:I'm trying to route the phono input from mackie Big Knob to the DAW input on the same unit

You mean the DAW output?
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2988
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Norwich UK

 


Re: Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby mr william milk » Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:41 pm

erm... i'm trying to monitor and/or record the phono stage of the big knob in the daw...
mr william milk
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby BJG145 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:46 pm

...just double-checking that you were connecting your DAW's input to the "DAW Output" section on the Mackie, and not the "DAW Input" section...
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2988
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Norwich UK

 


Re: Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby mr william milk » Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:28 pm

i'm sure i've got my ins and outs right, plus connections to speakers...
mr william milk
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby BJG145 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:35 am

You say you've also got a CD player and tape deck hooked up to the Mackie...are you able to get a signal registering in the DAW from them...? Ie, is this specifically a phono problem, or are you not able to get audio via the Mackie into the DAW at all...?

From the manual it sounds like all you should need to do is select phono as the input source, and it should send it to the DAW output jacks.
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2988
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Norwich UK

 


Re: Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:53 pm

Connect DAW output sockets on BK to line inputs on you interface and set your DAW software to record those inputs. Select phono input as source on BK. job done.

Hugh
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 17082
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK

Technical Editor, Sound On Sound


Re: Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby mr william milk » Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:57 pm

brilliant... thanks... didn't have outputs connected... klutz!
mr william milk
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Phono routing to DAW thru Big Knob

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sun Nov 25, 2012 10:56 am

it's always the most obvious things that we all overlook! Glad its sorted.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 17082
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK

Technical Editor, Sound On Sound



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests