You are here

Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

Postby The Elf » Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:22 pm

I've tried several SD Cards in my newly acquired Kaoss Pad 3 and all I get when I press the Shift-Card key combination is 'err'.

I accept that I may need to format the card on the KP3 itself, but I can't get that far!

Anyone been here and know what I'm doing wrong?
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

Postby The Elf » Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:49 pm

...and I've installed the drivers on my laptop. Result: The PC can see the KP3, but the editor software can't.

Sigh...

No way to load samples into the KP3 at this point.

Maybe I should have stuck with my KP1!!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

Postby The Elf » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:57 am

I've now tried half a dozen SD cards from 4GB to 8GB, all with the same result of 'Err' as soon as I hit 'Shift-Card'.

I'm beginning to wonder if this is a faulty device - or does the KP3 really demand a brand new completely unformatted card?
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

Postby zenguitar » Wed Nov 28, 2012 12:14 pm

Could be worth returning to the dealer. If it really was designed to be that fussy about cards the web would be full of rumblings by now.

Andy
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 7383
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Devon

Largely, but not entirely, dysfunctional.


Re: Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

Postby The Elf » Wed Nov 28, 2012 2:15 pm

I would have agreed with you up to five minutes ago. I tried an old 128MB SD card and... bingo! Formatted and saved to, with no trouble at all. Even the USB link allows me to see the card and its contents.

So it does look like the KP3 is, indeed, fussy about its cards. I'm now scrounging around the family looking for abandoned old low capacity SD cards!

And if anyone reading has any such unloved old card, I'd be pleased to give it a good home - I'll pay the postage!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

Postby DGL. » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:05 pm

I've got a 32MB floating around that isn't used if you really want a low capacity card (got it with a camera a few years ago, joke is camera supports SDHC cards and has a 4gb in at the moment).
It's useless to me really so if your that desperate you can have it.
DGL.
Frequent Poster
Posts: 610
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Portland, Dorset

Re: Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

Postby The Elf » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:38 pm

That's very kind of you! PM on its way.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Kaoss Pad 3 SD Card Problems

Postby The Elf » Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:19 am

Thanks to my mate DGL I have a working card on my KP3 - hoorah!

And the penny has dropped...

I had read that the KP3 accepts cards from '2GB to 16GB'. I though that sounded a lot!

Turns out it should have read '16MB to 2GB'. I really should have read the SOS review rather than trusting a random hit on the net!

Ever wish you hadn't thrown out all those old weedy SD cards?!?!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Black Sheep and 2 guests