You are here

How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

Postby alexis » Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:14 pm

Hello -

I would like to loop one vocal note out of a phrase to run through the voxengo eq analyzer to see if/where there might be an unwanted resonance peak.

I have been cutting/looping at zero crossings, but nevertheless there is a click as it loops around. What is the obvious (except to me ) next step, or is it not really that simple a process?

Thank you for any help!
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3215
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

Postby Jack Ruston » Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:35 pm

Um...well the way to deal with it in the context of a sequence would be to crossfade, but obviously if you're looping it, and you want it to be 'clean' it's a bit more complicated...I would: Cut the section at zero points as you have done. Copy and paste it twice so that you have three in a row. Crossfade between the three using identical crossfade length and position. Then try looping the middle one only, with the loop points at the centre of the crossfades.

J
Jack Ruston
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3484
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 12:00 am

Re: How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

Postby ken long » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:32 pm

change the loop points. Loop at the zero crossings. zoom in/expand view to make sure this is happening.
User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: The Orient, East London

I'm All Ears.


Re: How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

Postby Matt Houghton » Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:14 pm

Hi Alexis,
There's an option within Cubase to snap edits to zero crossings. You should have that enabled.
When looping, you can't always guarantee that a zero crossing will fall at a convenient point, so another approach (like we used to have to do...) is to zoom right in on the loop start and end points and drag the fades marker in a tiny bit. That gets rid of any clicks. Then you loop that. Alternatively you can take several clips and *slightly* overlap them, then crossfade to get a smooth transition.
Matt
Matt Houghton
Regular
Posts: 471
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 11:00 pm

SOS Reviews Editor


Re: How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

Postby alexis » Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:48 am

Thank you, Jack Ruston, Ken Long, and Matt Houghton!

I'll try the multiple clips overlapped and x-faded at zero crossing points. I have a few hours before leaving for the week, I hope I get to try this before. Packing - overrated, and for the weak!
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3215
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

Postby The Elf » Fri Dec 28, 2012 11:28 am

I've never found a zero crossing point a guarantee of no click. I suppose it depends on the source material.

TBH it sounds a bit over-kill trying to EQ a single note anyway. If there's a resonance on one specific note then you should still be able to find it while looping around a short (1-5 seconds?) phrase.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9984
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

Postby alexis » Fri Dec 28, 2012 5:33 pm

Well, at least from the point of view of the return on my time investment thus far, you are correct! But, it has helped me become more comfortable w/ the sample editor, so at least there's that.
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3215
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: How does one loop a vocal bit without the "click" of a bad snip?

Postby Folderol » Fri Dec 28, 2012 7:06 pm

For a zero crossing point to be click-free not only must the apparent phase be right (not much use if it's going positive and you join it to something going negative) but it must also contain no other non-harmonic content, as these could be swapping phase all over the place while still leaving the overall waveform appearing to be right.

Still, as the O/P discovered this is never wasted effort
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4694
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Rochester, UK

Save paradise, Pull up a parking lot!



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests