You are here

Throw a signal across the stereo field at sync'd times in Cubase 6.5?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Throw a signal across the stereo field at sync'd times in Cubase 6.5?

Postby alexis » Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:12 pm

Hello -

I was reading about a Dave Pensado technique using Waves Supertap, where he spreads the voice across from left to right with sync'd delays: for example, the far left is delayed by a 16th beat, L45 by an eighth, R45 by a quarter note, R90 by a half note delay (Sound on Sound magazine, January 07, page 165).

They also get louder as they go across the stereo field from left to right.

I took a look at the plug-ins in C6.5, but couldn't identify anything that could do that right out of the box. Can someone suggest a way to "build" one using stock Cubase tools?

Any thoughts on how to get started would be much appreciated - thanks!
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3083
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: Throw a signal across the stereo field at sync'd times in Cubase 6.5?

Postby The Elf » Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:35 pm

Create several mono FX Channels, each with a mono delay inserted and set for timing/pan as you've noted.

Create a 'master' FX Channel that contains no effect of its own, but sends to each of the separate mono delay FX channels you've created. Make each send from this 'master' FX Channel pre-fade, and turn down it's channel fader.

Now when you send from an audio channel to the 'master' FX Channel it will simultaneously send to each separate delay.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Throw a signal across the stereo field at sync'd times in Cubase 6.5?

Postby alexis » Mon Jan 21, 2013 7:58 am

The Elf wrote:Create several mono FX Channels, each with a mono delay inserted and set for timing/pan as you've noted.

Create a 'master' FX Channel that contains no effect of its own, but sends to each of the separate mono delay FX channels you've created. Make each send from this 'master' FX Channel pre-fade, and turn down it's channel fader.

Now when you send from an audio channel to the 'master' FX Channel it will simultaneously send to each separate delay.

Excellent, thanks, The Elf!

I tend to (well, to be honest, always do) use Groups instead of FX channels. Anything here that would make it worthwhile for to use an FX channel instead?

(And I assume the reason to set up the "master" FX channel instead of sending directly from the audio channel is so that all the sends for the audio channel aren't used up just for this)?

Cheers again!
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3083
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: Throw a signal across the stereo field at sync'd times in Cubase 6.5?

Postby The Elf » Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:09 am

alexis wrote:I tend to (well, to be honest, always do) use Groups instead of FX channels. Anything here that would make it worthwhile for to use an FX channel instead?

Other than losing the cue that fader cap colours give you I don't think there's much practical difference. I tend to think that if there's little difference, then why not use the proper tool for the job? An FX Channel is an FX Channel. A Group Channel is a Group Channel. I wouldn't be happy to run a mix where I was constantly getting confused between the two - let each do what it was meant for and let the fader cap colours help me.

After all you *could* hit nails in with a spanner, but why not use a hammer?

alexis wrote:(And I assume the reason to set up the "master" FX channel instead of sending directly from the audio channel is so that all the sends for the audio channel aren't used up just for this)?

Yes, you only have one send from the source channels - much easier, more flexible and less cluttered.

alexis wrote:Cheers again!

You're welcome.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests