You are here

Remote transport controls

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Remote transport controls

Postby _ Six _ » Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:47 am

I've seen Pro Tools controllers and the like for the iPad.. but unfortunately I haven't got an iPad!

I work in Logic mainly and need some sort of system where I can stop, rewind and hit record from the other side of the room to save getting up from the drums and walking across the room to the control surface every time. Nothing fancy just a reliable and usable piece of kit

I use a Mackie Universal Pro connected to a Mac Pro into a Focusrite interface and I've got a spare MacBookPro (aside from he recording machine) if that helps?
User avatar
_ Six _
Frequent Poster
Posts: 823
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Remote transport controls

Postby Dave B » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:32 am

You could try wiring the MBP into the Mac Pro (use cat5 and set up a private network), then turn on screen sharing on the Mac Pro and remote control that from the MBP. It should be a doddle to set up as the Mac uses standard vnc as it's remote desktop protocol and that's a standard. The networking would also be a doddle.
User avatar
Dave B
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3143
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Maidenhead

Veni, Vidi, Aesculi

(I came, I saw, I conkered)


Re: Remote transport controls

Postby _ Six _ » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:55 am

Brilliant Dave! Why didn't I think of that! :headbang:
User avatar
_ Six _
Frequent Poster
Posts: 823
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Remote transport controls

Postby chris... » Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:00 am

If lazy, and if you have WiFi, screen sharing would probably work well enough wirelessly.

If it seems too sluggish, then install a cable.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2720
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Remote transport controls

Postby DAGGILARR » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:04 pm

User avatar
DAGGILARR
Frequent Poster
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Exeter, Devon.

iMac 27" i7 2.9gh 2010 12GB ram, Focusrite Pro24DSP.


Re: Remote transport controls

Postby James Perrett » Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:59 pm

Hopefully fixed the link for you... It would be ideal but the only thing is that the Tranzport has been discontinued for a while. I use one with Reaper for just this purpose.

James.
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 5986
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: The wilds of Hampshire

JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration.
http://www.jrpmusic.co.uk


Re: Remote transport controls

Postby tim_obrien » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:49 pm

If your sequencer allows you to map keyboard commands to actions (most do - I do it in Reaper):

I use a 15foot ACTIVE usb cable (its really a long cable with a 1-port usb hub on the end) and a cheap usb numeric keypad.

Gives me a 20foot reach across the room, sits nice on my music stand and only cost me $25US.
tim_obrien
Regular
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Remote transport controls

Postby Diablo » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:21 pm

Another idea... get a wireless keyboard, and locate that remotely... It would remove yet another wire to trip over...
Diablo
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Remote transport controls

Postby djangodeadman » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:41 am

Diablo wrote:Another idea... get a wireless keyboard, and locate that remotely... It would remove yet another wire to trip over...
That's what I do. Works a treat.
djangodeadman
Regular
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Brighton

Re: Remote transport controls

Postby DAGGILARR » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:55 am

James Perrett wrote:Hopefully fixed the link for you... It would be ideal but the only thing is that the Tranzport has been discontinued for a while. I use one with Reaper for just this purpose.

James.

Thanks, see these go on ebay for about £40, often thought it would be a cool gizmo, but my BT keyboard is just fine
User avatar
DAGGILARR
Frequent Poster
Posts: 713
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Exeter, Devon.

iMac 27" i7 2.9gh 2010 12GB ram, Focusrite Pro24DSP.


Re: Remote transport controls

Postby James Perrett » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:15 pm

One good thing about the Tranzport is the way the knob works as a scrub control with Reaper - very realistic to those used to working with tape.

James.
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 5986
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: The wilds of Hampshire

JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration.
http://www.jrpmusic.co.uk


Re: Remote transport controls

Postby A. AuCr » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:22 pm

James Perrett wrote:One good thing about the Tranzport is the way the knob works as a scrub control with Reaper - very realistic to those used to working with tape.

James.

Door #3, Korg Nanofader, so you can arm/disarm tracks as well. No idea how well it plays with Logic, but it does tolerably well in Reaper for me (except when it latches two channel faders together :roll: )
A. AuCr
Regular
Posts: 161
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NEW England

Re: Remote transport controls

Postby fay spook » Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:53 pm

Cant the little white remote Apple include with some of their computers do the job? I have never tried

logic mannual page

Edit- just read that you need an infra red receiver to use the remote. I'm editing all my rubbish today
fay spook
Regular
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests