You are here

Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Mixedup » Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:51 pm

Hi All,

I find myself using PT today. I know enough of it to get around, but I have just separated out hundreds of drum hits from a multitrack recording via strip silence and I want to apply fade outs to each and every clip. I usually use Cubase: select all clips, drag the fade in and Bob's your uncle. In PT if I do that, it just applies a fade to the one clip on all tracks in the group. Or I can apply fade in and out to all clips. But I don't want fade in.

So... is there a single easy command for this? Or will I save my time exporting to another application?

Advice much appreciated!

M.
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4017
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Laputa

Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Phil O » Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:01 pm

I am not sure you can apply only fade outs to a selection clips along the timeline in PT. Highlighting / selecting the relevant clips (or use apple+shift+enter to select to the end of the session) and applying fade will apply fades in and out (or crossfades for adjacent clips) to all highlighted.
Phil O
Frequent Poster
Posts: 781
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Scotland

 


Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Mixedup » Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:24 pm

Thanks. I appreciate the advice. It looks like I chose the wrong DAW to do multisampled drums though. :headbang: I'll get them all separated and renamed in PT (where it's easier) and then export OMF and go my more stomping ground of Cubase, I think. A single click and drag there will save me literally thousands of clicks and drags in PT by the look of it!

...unless anyone else here knows something we've missed?
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4017
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Laputa

Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Sam Inglis » Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:47 pm

Never tried this, but what happens if you select all the regions, turn them into a Region Group and then apply a fade out to one of the regions?
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1991
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 12:00 am

 


Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Mixedup » Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:12 pm

Thanks Sam. I like the lateral thinking but no, this doesn't seem to work for me. It just groups the clips in a similar way to gluing them in Cubase, and then allows you to add a fade out to the end of the whole thing. I'm struggling to believe that this can't be done more easily in PT. I think I can batch process the lot in Wavelab, though, without needing to do the Cubase/OMF thing.
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4017
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Laputa

Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Sam Inglis » Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:31 pm

Bum. Oh well, it was worth a try!
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1991
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 12:00 am

 


Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby The Elf » Wed Mar 06, 2013 9:53 pm

When I have to use PT I do like you suggest and export into Cubase, do all of my basic editing/polishing work in there, then export back to PT.

There's no need to get bogged down in OMF. Just export/import all of the audio as full-song audio files and re-export/import back the same.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10102
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Mixedup » Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:58 am

The Elf wrote:There's no need to get bogged down in OMF. Just export/import all of the audio as full-song audio files and re-export/import back the same.


Nah... PT is *way* better for what I'm doing, which is basically making a multi-mic multi-velocity drum library. Partly, that's because the Strip Silence feature is easier to use and more accurate without juggling controls than in Cubase — and merging all files would mean having to restrip everything in Cubase; timestamp WAVs might work, OMF would open the full session (there are no insert effects and no automation used) — and partly because the Strip Silence feature allows you to rename lots of clips quickly and easily, and can do so in a format that makes automapping in Kontakt relatively painless. You can then export all selected clips as audio files from the same screen, without ever having to root through anything so mystifying and cluttered as the Cubase audio pool. The single exception is that in PT you can't do a 'safety' fade out in case you've very slightly truncated the odd sample here and there. So current thinking is: 1. Edit and rename everything in PT (in which the sessions were tracked); 2. batch process 'safety' end fades in Wavelab; 3. Map multi-mic samples in NI Battery or Kontakt (Battery seems easier for stuff where you're not doing automapping); and then 4. finish the job with scripting, interface tweaks etc in Kontakt.
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4017
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Laputa

Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Sam Inglis » Thu Mar 07, 2013 1:09 pm

Found this suggestion in the DUC. The idea being that if you set the fade in type to be a butt edit, it won't do anything. Worth a shot.
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1991
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 12:00 am

 


Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby Mixedup » Thu Mar 07, 2013 2:41 pm

Thanks again. Had actually thought of that in the meantime! Will give it a try when next at the PT machine. Stoooopid, though... to have nothing done, you have to actively select something. I mean, why do something with one click of a mouse when you can also add a bunch of keyboard shortcuts, drop down menus and the like. :headbang:
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4017
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Laputa

Re: Pro Tools — Fade Multiple Clips? Can't find any shortcut :(

Postby DC-Choppah » Tue Mar 12, 2013 4:34 am

After you select all the regions and hit ctrl-f (for fades) the box that opens allows you to control the fade in and out. Just look at it more closely. The default will be to fade in and out as you said. But you can control these. Just set the fade in to the flat line and you will only get the fade out between the regions selected. And this will work across tracks too.
User avatar
DC-Choppah
Frequent Poster
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:00 pm
Location: MD, USA

 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests