You are here

Do MOTU 828 Mk3 and MOTU 828 Mk2 work together?

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Do MOTU 828 Mk3 and MOTU 828 Mk2 work together?

Postby Kevin Nolan » Sat Mar 23, 2013 7:46 pm

Any users of both the MOTU 828 Mk3 and 828 Mk2 in the one setup? Would be grateful on your advice:

- Can the 828 Mk3 and 828 Mk2 work together connected to a Macbook Pro via its single Firewire port (say, by connecting the Mk3 to the MBP and daisy chaining the Mk2 to the Mk3?)

- Are there drivers for the Mk2 for Mountain Lion (MOTU Website a bit ambiguous on this - it looks like they support it as a legacy product, but it's not completely clear).

- Will such a combined setup be visible through Core Audio and MIDI and supply a DAW like Logic Pro with full I/O complement of each?


Cheers,
Kevin.
Kevin Nolan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 12:00 am

Kevin Nolan,KNECT.
www.knect.ie


Re: Do MOTU 828 Mk3 and MOTU 828 Mk2 work together?

Postby G-Doubleyou » Sat Mar 23, 2013 11:46 pm

All the Motu firewire devices use the same driver, MOTU does indeed support multiple devices on mac and PC, OSX allows you use multiple devices from different companies.

User avatar
G-Doubleyou
Frequent Poster
Posts: 881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:00 am

G-Dub Studio G-fx 15inch quad-core i7 Macbook Pro Logic9.1.8, LPX 10.0.3


Re: Do MOTU 828 Mk3 and MOTU 828 Mk2 work together?

Postby Kevin Nolan » Sun Mar 24, 2013 2:53 am

Thanks G-Dub - really appreciated !
Kevin Nolan
Frequent Poster
Posts: 625
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 12:00 am

Kevin Nolan,KNECT.
www.knect.ie



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests