You are here

Absynth macro automation controls rage

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

Absynth macro automation controls rage

Postby oggyb » Mon Apr 01, 2013 8:17 pm

Hey. Absynth is so powerful a VSTi that I can't work out how to get my CC#-controlled macro automation to automate the parameters the macro is supposedly connected to.

I.e., I see the control slider moving with automation from cubase, and I see the assignments page shows the parameters I want to automate, yet those parameters do not automate.

Does some sound-design wiz here have any idea what I'm talking about?
User avatar
oggyb
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Absynth macro automation controls rage

Postby chris... » Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:46 pm

As I'm sure you're aware, "Midi CC" and "DAW automation" are completely separate things (that can sometimes accomplish similar tasks).

I'm not quite getting what part midi CC is playing here.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2720
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Absynth macro automation controls rage

Postby BJG145 » Mon Apr 01, 2013 9:52 pm

There's an NI guide to Cubase automation here if it helps...

http://www.native-instruments.com/knowledge/questions/421/Cubase+Guide+-+Automation
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2995
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Norwich UK

 


Re: Absynth macro automation controls rage

Postby oggyb » Wed Apr 03, 2013 1:53 pm

Thanks for the link, but the reason I'm struggling is that Absynth doesn't work that way. It exposes macros rather than direct access to the params.

Which is irritating.
User avatar
oggyb
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Absynth macro automation controls rage

Postby The Elf » Wed Apr 03, 2013 2:31 pm

I've just tried it out using Cubase Quick Controls assigned to the Macros and it works fine for me.

From what I can see the only problem is that Absynth doesn't show the controls changing on screen as you move the physical control - but it's certainly doing what it should by ear.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10094
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Absynth macro automation controls rage

Postby BJG145 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:10 pm

oggyb wrote:I see the control slider moving with automation from cubase, and I see the assignments page shows the parameters I want to automate, yet those parameters do not automate


I'm not sure what you mean when you say that you see the slider moving but the parameter doesn't automate. Are you talking about a motorised fader or a virtual control in Absynth...?
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2995
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Norwich UK

 


Re: Absynth macro automation controls rage

Postby oggyb » Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:49 pm

BJG145 wrote:
oggyb wrote:I see the control slider moving with automation from cubase, and I see the assignments page shows the parameters I want to automate, yet those parameters do not automate

I'm not sure what you mean when you say that you see the slider moving but the parameter doesn't automate. Are you talking about a motorised fader or a virtual control in Absynth...?
A virtual controller, but like Elf says, it might be working and just so subtle I can't hear it.

Seems strange that.
User avatar
oggyb
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Leeds, UK


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests