You are here

protools versions

For everything after the recording stage: hardware/software and how you use it.

protools versions

Postby saltybrian » Fri Jan 10, 2014 12:54 am

Hi,

After a few years playing around with Logic I'm interested in trying something different and getting to know the basics of protools. I've got a 2012 mb pro and a motu interface so don't need / want to buy hardware.

I'm confused by all the versions - which version offers basic functionality for multi track live audio recording and editing?

Thanks for any advice.
saltybrian
Regular
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: protools versions

Postby Phil O » Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:29 am

If you don't want (or need) to buy additional hardware, then there's only one version available to you i.e Pro Tools 11. I believe this comes with a bundled license for version 10. The latter should allow you to run the software on 2012 Mac OS versions.

Express is a substantially cut down version but is only available with a hardware purchase.
User avatar
Phil O
Frequent Poster
Posts: 781
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Scotland

 


Re: protools versions

Postby JosefBud » Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:39 pm

Phil O wrote:If you don't want (or need) to buy additional hardware, then there's only one version available to you i.e Pro Tools 11. I believe this comes with a bundled license for version 10. The latter should allow you to run the software on 2012 Mac OS versions.

Express is a substantially cut down version but is only available with a hardware purchase.

^^^ What he said

Your best option right now is to go with Pro Tools 11, and definitely not the HD version. I work entirely in Pro Tools and love it! I think you'll really enjoy yourself
User avatar
JosefBud
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 12:00 am

Re: protools versions

Postby saltybrian » Sat Jan 11, 2014 7:06 pm

Thanks for this.

I want to learn the ropes so I could be more clued up when working with other engineers / studios. As far as I can see that's going to cost me £500... might be a bit expensive just for a dabble. If I were to go down the express / hardware route, could I sell the hardware and work express with my own interface?

CHeers
saltybrian
Regular
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: protools versions

Postby Phil O » Sat Jan 11, 2014 7:37 pm

saltybrian wrote:Thanks for this.

I want to learn the ropes so I could be more clued up when working with other engineers / studios. As far as I can see that's going to cost me £500... might be a bit expensive just for a dabble. If I were to go down the express / hardware route, could I sell the hardware and work express with my own interface?

CHeers

It should be possible to sell the interface as authorization of the software is via iLok2 i.e not hardware dependent.

If you just want to 'dabble', there's a free 30 day trial available to try via the Avid website (iLok2 required).
User avatar
Phil O
Frequent Poster
Posts: 781
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Scotland

 


Re: protools versions

Postby DC-Choppah » Sun Jan 12, 2014 4:19 am

Motu interfaces claim to be compatible with ProTools 9: http://www.motu.com/newsitems/motu-audio-interfaces-are-compatible-with-pro-tools-9

So you can just get a working version of PT 9 LE to learn protools with your current rig. You can find that on the market for sale cheap since it is 2 versions behind.

That's another option.
User avatar
DC-Choppah
Frequent Poster
Posts: 672
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 11:00 pm
Location: MD, USA

 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests